How to Clean Up Your Facebook Profile

Clean up your content and improve your privacy

An image of the Facebook login page on a smartphone.

Pexels

 

Whether you've had a Facebook account for one year or over a decade, it's always a good idea to spend a bit of time cleaning up your profile at least once or twice a year. When you do, you'll make it easier for your friends and followers to find relevant information about you that's both interesting and welcoming.

Why It's Important to Clean Up Your Facebook Profile

You should clean up your profile because:

  • Your profile picture and/or cover photo might be outdated.
  • Your friends list might contain people you no longer want to be connected to.
  • Your About section might contain outdated information.
  • Your Intro section on the front of your profile might contain outdated information.
  • You might have irrelevant status updates/shares, posts you've been tagged in or posts from friends showing on your timeline.
  • You might have too many irrelevant photos showing in your Photos section.
  • Your privacy settings could be stronger.
  • You might be getting too many irrelevant notifications.

To make your profile look as good as ever and to cut down on unnecessary or outdated information, consider some of the following Facebook profile clean-up tips.

Consider Updating Your Profile Picture and Cover Photo

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

Your profile picture and cover photo are the first two things people see when they look at your profile. If one or both are outdated up to a year or longer, try freshening up your profile by adding some new photos that are high-quality and visually appealing.

Adding a new profile picture or cover photo also shows up in your friends news feeds, which reminds them that you're still active on Facebook and might encourage them to go and visit your profile.

Unfriend or Unfollow Irrelevant Friends

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

If your news feed is cluttered with information from people you are not closely connected to or interested in, it's time to consider unfriending or at least unfollowing some of them. This will help clear up your News Feed of posts from friends you don't really want or need to see.

Simply navigate to your Friends tab and select the Friends button beside any friend to select Unfriend if you want to be connected to them anymore. If you want to remain friends, but would rather not see any of their posts in your News Feed, you'll have to navigate to their profile and select the Following button at the top of their profile to change it to Unfollow [Name].

Update Your Facebook About Info

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

When was the last time you looked at the About section on your Facebook profile? This is the section where friends can see where you work or went to school, where you live, your contact information, your personal information (like your birthday), your relationship status and more.

You may have changed jobs, moved, or gotten into a new relationship since you last updated this section of your profile. Consider deleting outdated information and adding new information that's relevant.

You can set the visibility for each piece of info you add to your About section. Just look for the privacy dropdown arrow icon to set its visibility to Public, Friends, Only me or Custom.

Update Your Intro Section Info

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

Your Intro section is like a small, public snapshot of your About section, shown under your profile picture on your profile. You can include a short bio, up to nine featured photos, website or social links and any About info that's set to public.

If you already updated your About info that you want to be public in the last step, your Intro section should reflect those changes. The only other two pieces of information you'll need to update here are the bio and your featured photos.

Clear Out Irrelevant Posts That Appear on Your Timeline

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

Your timeline on your profile will show a combination of posts made by you (such as status updates and link shares), posts shared directly to your timeline from friends and possibly posts you were tagged in from friends (if you have it enabled).

It's a good idea to browse through your most recent timeline posts to either hide or delete irrelevant ones. You can do this by selecting the three horizontal dots in the top right corner of each post and selecting Hide from timeline or Delete.

For a quicker way to clean up timeline posts in bulk, select the Manage Posts button at the top of your timeline to see your posts in thumbnail collections. You can then select multiple at once to hide or delete.

Untag, Delete, Hide, or Change the Visibility of Your Photos

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

Any public photos you share yourself or photos you've been tagged in from friends will appear in your Photos section on your profile. To clean this section up, you can:

  • Untag yourself from photos
  • Delete, hide or change the visibility of some of your own photo posts
  • Delete, hide or change the visibility of some of your own albums
  • Limit the visibility of all photos you're tagged in by going to Settings > Timeline and Tagging and changing Who can see posts you're tagged in on your timeline? to Friends, Friends of friends, Only me or Custom.

You can manage your photos much more easily from the Photos tab since it divides them into three sections: Photos of You (tagged photos), Your Photos (including profile photos) and Albums.

You can't delete photos you've been tagged in if they were posted by someone else. You can only untag yourself, which only removes it from your profile (not theirs or anyone else who's been tagged).

Go Over Your Privacy Settings

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

Over the years, your desire to share certain information on Facebook can change. What you once shared publicly might be more appropriate to share just with friends; and what was once shared with all your friends might be better to share with a custom list of specific friends.

Select the down arrow at the top of Facebook and select Settings. Choose Privacy and make your selection in the Your Activity section.

This section also has an option you can use to limit the privacy of old posts. If you choose the Limit Past Posts button, the privacy setting for all old posts that were shared with the Public or with Friends of friends changes to Friends.

You can also change the options in the How People Can Find and Contact You section to limit unwanted friend requests or messages. Lastly, you can control whether search engines outside of Facebook can link to your profile and turn off Facebook's Face Recognition capability in your settings.

Learn how to test your privacy settings to make sure they work the way you want.

Turn Off Pointless and Distracting Notifications

A screenshot of Facebook.com.

If you're very active on Facebook, you might receive a lot of notifications on a daily basis. Some are turned on by default, which means they can really add up and become overwhelming over time.

To manage your notifications, including standard notifications as well as push notifications to your mobile devices, navigate to your Settings and select Notifications. You can turn off notifications for the following:

  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Reminders
  • More Activity About You
  • Update From Friends
  • Friend Requests
  • People You May Know
  • Birthdays
  • Groups
  • Video
  • Events
  • Pages You Follow
  • Marketplace
  • Fundraisers and Community Support

For some types of notifications, such as those from groups or pages, you can also disable them directly from their page. Just navigate to a group or page and select the Notifications button to turn it Off.