How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook

It's okay to move on. Here's the easy way to do it

 

Unfriending someone on Facebook is a fast and straightforward solution that's a little bit stronger than unfollowing them, yet not as dramatic as blocking someone completely.

Here's what you need to know about unfriending someone on Facebook, how to do it, and what happens after your social media friendship is over.

How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook

When you unfriend someone on Facebook, that person will no longer be able to see posts that you publish to your friends, and any direct messages will be filtered into your Message Requests inbox for you to approve before reading.

Unfriended Facebook friends will still be able to view your public posts and follow you if you have the option enabled on your profile.

  1. Go to Facebook or open the app and log in, if necessary.

  2. Go to your profile and select Friends.

    Friends tab on Facebook
  3. Choose the name of the person you want to unfriend to open their profile page.

  4. Select the Friends icon at the top of their profile.

    Friends icon on Facebook profile
  5. Select Unfriend.

    Unfriend option on Facebook

Can People Tell They've Been Unfriended?

Facebook users do not get notified when someone has unfriended them; however, there are indirect ways in which they are likely to discover what's happened.

  • They might realize that they haven't seen any of your posts in their Facebook feed and visit your profile. They will be able to tell you have unfriended them when they see the option to add you as a friend.
  • If you have mutual friends, Facebook might recommend you as a suggested friend.

How Do I Reverse an Unfriending on Facebook?

It is impossible to undo an unfriending. The only way to reconnect with someone on Facebook is to send them a friend request as you did when you first became Facebook friends.

Because they will have to approve your friend request manually, they will realize that you had unfriended them. If you had done so by accident, explain what happened. 

Is Unfriending the Same as Blocking and Unfollowing?

Unfriending someone on Facebook is not the same as blocking or unfollowing them. Unfollowing someone on Facebook maintains the friend connection but hides all of their posts from your Facebook feed. Unfollowing can be a good option for friends or family members that you can't cut off entirely yet don't want to see the content they post in your timeline. People you unfollow can still send you messages and see your posts.

Blocking someone on Facebook is the most-extreme action you can take as it not only unfriends an account but also prevents them from seeing your public posts and stops them from sending you any form of direct message. 

What Is a Facebook Purge?

A Facebook purge is what many users humorously call it when they go through their list of Facebook friends and unfriend those that they no longer talk to, don't get along with, or don't even recognize. After the mass unfriending, the user will often post something to their remaining Facebook friends to let them know that a purge has taken place and that if they can read that message, it means that they have survived and are still considered a true friend.