SMS Gateway: From Email to SMS Text Message

List of SMS Gateways for Wireless Carriers

Reading an SMS on the go
" sms" ( CC BY 2.0) by Pixel Addict
Was this page helpful?

All of the major wireless carriers in the United States offer an SMS gateway, which is a technology bridge that allows one form of communication (email) to conform to the technical requirements of a different form of communication (SMS).

One of the typical uses of the SMS gateway is the forwarding of email to a mobile device and vice versa. The gateway platform manages the necessary protocol mapping to bridge the gap between SMS and electronic-mail systems.

An email message going through an SMS gateway is limited to 160 characters so it will most likely be broken up into several messages or truncated. A text message originating from a mobile device and going through an SMS gateway to an email address should be fine in terms of the number of characters.

Most of the major wireless mobile providers offer an SMS gateway. Typically, the wireless providers use a mobile number plus an email domain to route email messages through their SMS gateway. For example, if you are sending an email to a Verizon Wireless mobile device, you would send it to the mobile number + "@vtext.com." If the mobile phone number was 123-456-7890, you would send the email to "1234567890@vtext.com." From a mobile device, you can generally just use an email address which will send the message through the SMS gateway and to the intended email address.

SMS Gateways for Major Wireless Carriers

The major carriers all follow the same logic for their gateway addresses; the only thing that varies is the domain of the email address:

ProviderEmail-to-SMS Address Format
AllTelnumber@text.wireless.alltel.com
AT&Tnumber@txt.att.net
Boost Mobilenumber@myboostmobile.com
Cricketnumber@sms.mycricket.com
Sprintnumber@messaging.sprintpcs.com
T-Mobilenumber@tmomail.net
US Cellularnumber@email.uscc.net
Verizonnumber@vtext.com
Virgin Mobilenumber@vmobl.com

Contemporary Use

With rich messaging services and robust email apps on today's smartphone platforms. SMS gateways are less significant for day-to-day consumer use than they were in the flip-phone era, although they continue to serve a vital purpose for businesses. For example, emergency notifications may be transmitted by companies to employees through an SMS gateway, to ensure that a plain email isn't lost in an inbox.