How to Sign Out of Chrome

Log out of Chrome so others can't see your information

When you log into your Gmail or Google account, you are also signed in to many of Google's products including the Chrome browser. So even if you didn't actively sign in to Chrome, you might have already.

Why You Might Want to Sign Out of Chrome

It's important to log out of Chrome and other programs, like Gmail, when using a public computer or one that belongs to a friend or family member because the browser stores an array of private information that can include credit card numbers, passwords, browsing history, and more.

You might also want to log out of Chrome before letting someone else borrow your device since the autofill on the browser search bar can also be revealing, showing your search history. Just type “what is” into your search bar and see what it fills in (it’s likely to be at least a little embarrassing).

Finally, since you can log in to multiple devices at once, it’s good to do an audit of where you’re signed in, such as an old work computer or a device you no longer own.

Here’s how to sign out of Chrome whether you have access to the device or not.

Sign Out of Chrome on Your Desktop or Smartphone

On a computer, you can sign out of Chrome and your Google account from most Google websites. Look for your Google profile photo on the top right corner of the page.

Chrome browser with account window open and Sign Out highlighted

Click your profile photo and select Sign out. The process is a bit different on a smartphone. The screenshots below are for Android.

  1. In the Gmail app for Android and iOS, tap your profile picture at the top right side of the app (bottom right for iOS).

  2. You'll land on the Sync and Google Services screen. Tap your profile picture again.

  3. Tap Sign out and turn off sync.

    Chrome Sync and Google services screens

    If you don't have syncing on, it will say something like Sign out of Chrome.

Turn Off Syncing for Chrome

Another method is to turn off sync, which backs up a range of data to your Gmail address, such as browser extensions, passwords, browsing history, and bookmarks. While it’s convenient to carry this information from device to device, you can turn this functionality off or limit the types of saved data.

  1. From any tab in Chrome on a computer, click the More menu (three vertical dots) on the top right corner.

    Three-dot icon at the top of a Chrome web page
  2. Click Settings.

    Settings highlighted in the Chrome drop-down menu
  3. Click the small arrow next to Sync.

    Chrome browser’s Settings page
  4. Expand the Manage what you sync section by selecting the arrow next to it.

    Sync settings with Manage what you sync highlighted
  5. Toggle off Sync everything.

    Sync management screen with Sync everything highlighted

Disabling sync also signs you out of Google Account services.

You can also turn off syncing for Chrome from your smartphone (shown for iOS).

  1. In the Chrome app, tap the More menu (three vertical dots) at the bottom right corner (top right corner on Android devices).

  2. Tap Settings.

    Chrome app with More menu icon and Settings highlighted
  3. Tap Sync and Google Services.

  4. Turn off the slider next to Sync Your Chrome Data.

    Path to turn off Sync in Chrome app

Turn Off Chrome Sign-In

When you sign in to your Google Account from any app, such as Gmail or Google Drive, you’re automatically signed in to Chrome by default. If you don’t want this to happen, you can adjust the settings on your computer.

  1. Open Chrome.

  2. Click the three-dot More menu icon.

    Chrome browser with three-dot icon highlighted
  3. Select Settings in the drop-down menu.

    Chrome browser with Settings highlighted in drop-down menu
  4. In the You and Google section, select Sync and Google Services.

    You and Google section of Chrome settings
  5. Turn off the slider next to Allow Chrome sign-in.

    Chrome settings showing Allow Chrome sign-in option

Log out of Chrome Remotely

Finally, it’s possible that you’ve signed into Chrome on one or more devices that you don’t have access to anymore. Luckily, you can remotely sign out of Chrome from your computer by removing access to it.

When you remove access from Chrome, that signs you out of any computer or device you’ve used, including the one you’re using now. You can allow access again next time you launch Chrome.

  1. Go to myaccount.google.com/permissions.

  2. Scroll down to the Google apps section and click Google Chrome.

  3. Select Remove access.

    Remove Access option in Chrome