Email, Messaging, & Video Calls Email How to Save Your Google Hangouts and Gmail Chat History Archive your conversations to review any time by Heinz Tschabitscher Writer A former freelance contributor who has reviewed hundreds of email programs and services since 1997. our editorial process Heinz Tschabitscher Updated on April 22, 2020 Email Gmail Yahoo! Mail Tweet Share Email The system for chatting through Google has gone through several names in the past, including Google Talk, GChat, and Google Hangouts. Using Gmail, you can easily have a conversation and see past conversations you've had. These conversations are saved within Gmail for later search and access. By default, when you chat with another person through Google Hangouts (the chat that is available through the Gmail site) the history of the conversation is automatically saved. This helps make conversations easier, particularly if you pause for a period and return later and try to remember where you left off. This feature can be turned off, as shown below. To use Google's chat in Gmail, you must first activate it. Turn on Chat in Gmail To activate chat in Gmail: Select the Settings icon in the top right corner of the Gmail screen. Choose Settings from the menu. Select the Chat tab at the top of the Settings page. Press the radio button next to Chat on. You can access saved chat logs in any email program using IMAP. Toggling Chat/Hangout History Whenever you have a conversation with someone through Google's chat, the conversation is kept as a history, allowing you to scroll up in the conversation window to see what messages have been exchanged in the past. You can turn this feature on and off by select the Settings icon in the upper-right portion of the conversation window for that person. In the settings, you will find a checkbox for Conversation history; check the box to have message history saved, or uncheck it to disable history. If history is disabled, messages can disappear and may do so before the intended recipient reads them. Also, a saved history of a conversation is disabled if any party involved in the conversation has disabled the history option. However, if a user is accessing the chat through a different client, their client may be able to save the chat history despite disabling the Google Hangout history setting. In past versions of Google Chat, the option to disable chat history was also called "going off the record." Archiving Conversations You can archive a conversation by selecting the Settings icon in the specific conversation window you want to archive and pressing Archive conversation. This will hide the conversation from your list of conversations in the sidebar. The conversation is not gone, however. To retrieve an archived conversation, select your name at the top of your conversation list and choose Archived Hangouts from the menu. This will display a list of those conversations that you have archived previously. A conversation is removed from the archive and returned to your recent conversation list if you select it from the Archived Hangouts menu, or if you receive a new message from the other party in the conversation.