How to Activate Private Browsing in Safari for iPhone and iPod touch

This tutorial is only intended for users running the Safari Web browser on iPhone or iPod touch devices.

Since its introduction in iOS 5, the Private Browsing feature in Safari has become one of its most popular. While activated, data items amassed during a private browsing session such as history, cache and cookies are permanently deleted as soon as the browser is closed. Private Browsing mode can be enabled in just a few easy steps, and this tutorial walks you through the process.

Select the Safari icon, typically found on the bottom of your iOS Home Screen. Safari's main browser window should now be displayed. Click on the Tabs (also known as Open Pages) icon, found in the lower right-hand corner. All of Safari's open pages should now be displayed, along with three options located at the bottom of the screen. To enable Private Browsing mode, select the option labeled Private.

You have now entered Private Browsing Mode, as shown in the screenshot above. Any new windows/tabs opened at this point fall under this category, ensuring that browsing and search history, as well as Autofill information, will not be stored on your device. To begin browsing privately, tap the plus(+) icon located at the bottom of the screen. To return to standard mode, select the Private button again so its white background disappears. It is important to note that your browsing behavior will no longer be private, and the aforementioned data will once again be stored on your iOS device.

If you do not manually close Web pages before exiting Private Browsing they will remain open the next time that mode is activated.