Software & Apps MS Office How to Permanently Delete Emails in Outlook Delete messages without sending them to the Deleted Items folder by Heinz Tschabitscher Writer A former freelance contributor who has reviewed hundreds of email programs and services since 1997. our editorial process Heinz Tschabitscher Updated on February 03, 2020 reviewed by Michelle Adeola Adelufosi Lifewire Tech Review Board Member Michelle Adeola Adelufosi is a marketing consultant with 9 years' experience working for a variety of clients. Her expertise includes social media, web development, and graphic design. our review board Article reviewed on Sep 12, 2020 Michelle Adeola Adelufosi MS Office Outlook Word Excel Powerpoint Tweet Share Email If your Outlook Deleted Items folder fills up quick and you don't want to take out the trash, set up Outlook to permanently delete an email. That way, the deleted message bypasses the Deleted Items folder when it is removed from Outlook. When a message is permanently deleted, there's no way to recover it. Instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010; and Outlook for Microsoft 365. Why Does Outlook Maintain a Deleted Items Folder? The Deleted Items folder in Outlook is a convenient way to manage messages that you no longer want. The Deleted Items folder is a temporary location for the messages you delete and makes it easy to recover accidentally deleted items. If you want to make sure a message cannot be recovered, delete it and then empty the Deleted Items folder. When you empty this folder, any messages, contacts, and other items in the folder are also permanently deleted. When you want to avoid sending a message to the Deleted Items folder and want the message permanently deleted, there is an option. Permanently Delete an Email in Outlook Beyond Recovery To permanently delete a message (without having the message go to the Deleted Items folder) in Outlook: Select the message that you want to permanently delete. To permanently delete a folder in Outlook, go to the Folders pane and select the folder. Press Shift+Del. Or, go to the Home tab, press and hold Shift, and select Delete. A dialog box opens and warns you that the message will be permanently deleted. Select Yes. Turn Off the Confirmation Dialog for Deleting Permanently in Outlook To prevent Outlook from asking for a confirmation every time you delete a message: Go to the File tab. Select Options. In the Outlook Options dialog box, select Advanced. In the Other section, clear the Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items check box. Select OK. Empty the Deleted Items Folder in Outlook When you want to permanently delete all the emails that have been sent to the Deleted Items folder in Outlook, either use your mouse or the Outlook menu. Empty the Deleted Items Folder with the Mouse Right-click the Deleted Items folder for the account or PST file you want to empty. Select Empty Folder. A dialog box opens and warns you that the everything in the Deleted Items folder will be permanently deleted. Select Yes. Empty the Deleted Items Folder From the Outlook Menu Select the Deleted Items folder. Go to the Folder tab. In the Clean Up group, select Empty Folder. Empty the Deleted Items Folder When Outlook Closes You don’t have to empty the Deleted Items folder. Instead, set up Outlook to automatically and permanently delete emails in the Deleted Items folder when you close Outlook. To delete all items from the Deleted Items folder when Outlook closes: Go to the File tab. Select Options. In the Outlook Options dialog box, select Advanced. In the Outlook start and exit section, select the Empty Deleted Items folders when exiting Outlook check box. Select OK.