Overwatch Game Review: Should I buy Overwatch?

Latest Info for Overwatch the Multiplayer First Person Shooter from Blizzard

Overwatch Screenshot
Overwatch Screenshot. © Blizzard Entertainment

Buy From Amazon

About Overwatch

Overwatch is a multiplayer first person shooter from Blizzard Entertainment that features team combat in a squad-based format. Each player will select from a list of heroes, with each hero having a unique set of abilities and role. Game play is co-operative and competitive with each player taking on a specific role for the team based on their hero's abilities/role. Matches take place between two teams of six player each in one of four different game modes.

The heroes also come in four different types or roles. The Overwatch story is set in a near future Earth after the threat of an artificial intelligence threaten humanity it was was known as the Omnic Crisis. This crisis led to the creation of "Overwatch" a task force created by the UN to watch over humanity and Earth. Years after the crisis corruption crept into Overwatch and it was eventually disbanded under mysterious circumstances.

Overwatch also marks the first new game franchise from Blizzard Entertainment since the introduction of the StarCraft game series in 1998.

Quick Hits

Overwatch Heroes, Roles & Experience

The game play of Overwatch relies heavily upon co-operative game play within each team of six players and the backbone of these is all based on the heroes that are selected.

Upon its launch, Overwatch contains 21 different heroes each of which are categorized into one of the four roles. These four roles include Offense, Defense, Support and Tank with each having a specific assignment or task within the team. For example heroes from the Offense role typically move and attack quickly but have an overall low level of defensive capabilities.

Defense heroes, on the other hand, can take hold up enemies and help protect the more nimble offensive heroes. Support heroes provide just that, support for the team with things such as healing, increasing speed of other heroes and more. Finally, Tank heroes start with a lot of armor and life which allows them to take an extraordinary amount of damage which in turn helps protect teammates.

Each hero also has their own unique abilities which helps differentiate them between other heroes of the same role. There are six Offense and Defense heroes, five Tank heroes and four Support heroes. These roles are very similar to those found in MOBA games such as Heroes of the Storm or Dota 2, but Overwatch is played as a first person shooter where the other games are more of an RPG style top down/over the shoulder view.

Players will also gain experience during game play both winning and losing matches but also based on individual performance based on number of kills, use of powers and user voting to decide who was the most valuable player of a match. The experience points are then used in level progression each time a player goes up a level they will earn a "Loot Box" which contains a random set of cosmetic items or skins.

These items can be common, rare, epic or legendary but these items do not increase any in game abilities or powers.

Overwatch System Requirements

SpecMinimum RequirementRecommended Requirement
CPUIntel Core i3 or AMD Phenom X3 8650Intel Core i5 or AMD Phenom II X3 or better
CPU Speed2.8 GHz2.8 GHz
Operating SystemWindows 7 / Windows 8 / Windows 10 64-bitWindows 7 / Windows 8 / Windows 10 64-bit
Memory4 GB RAM6 GB RAM
Video CardNVIDIA GeForce GTX 460, ATI Radeon HD 4850, or Intel HD Graphics 4400NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 or AMD Radeon HD 7950 or better
Misc Video1024 x 768 Resolution1920 x 1080 Resolution
Disk Space Required30GB of free hard disk space30GB of free hard disk space
MiscBroadband Internet connection for multiplayerBroadband Internet connection for multiplayer

Overwatch Game Modes

Overwatch contains three main game modes and a fourth game mode that is a mix of two. The game modes included with the release of Overwatch are Assault, Escort, Control and Assault/Escort.

  • Assault - In Assault one team is assigned as the "attacking" team and are required to capture two points on the game map. The opposing team is tasked with defending the two strategic points and must stop the attacking team.
  • Escort - Escort mode is a time limit mode where the attacking team must delivery a pay load to a certain location on the map before a timer runs out. The truck or vehicle transporting the payload moves along a fixed path.
  • Hybrid - this hybrid model is a mix of the previous two modes where the attacking team must capture the payload vehicle and then escort it along a path to a delivery location. The opposing team must try to stop the attacking team.
  • Control - In control each team attempts to gain and maintain control of a common point on the map until for a certain length of time until they increase their team's capture percentage to 100%. This mode is played a best out of three series.

Overwatch includes a competitive mode that allows player to complete against others in ranked matches across seasons that will last approximately three months each. There will be a brief hiatus between seasons for Blizzard to tweak and make changes to the format. In order to qualify for competitive season match play, players must first obtain a ranking of level 25 in the causal match modes.


Once they have reached the require level, players will then play ten "test" matches which will place them into a division with players of similar skill sets.

Overwatch Maps

Overwatch launched with a total of twelve different maps that were available to all players. These maps were broken down across the four different game modes giving each mode a set of maps to play. These maps include both fictional locations as well as real world locations. Additional maps are planned for future Overwatch updates and DLCs.

Asssault Maps

  • Hanamura
  • Temple of Anubis
  • Volskaya Industries

Escort Maps

  • Dorado
  • Route 66
  • Watchpoint

Control Maps

  • Ilios
  • Lijiang Tower
  • Nepal

Hybrid Maps

  • Hollywood
  • King's Row
  • Numbani

Overwatch DLCs & Expansions

Blizzard has not announced any official DLCs or expansions for Overwatch as of its launch date. However they have said that the game will receive new maps and multiplayer maps through regular updates. These updates will be free of charge for existing players and should not require additional payment for those that have already purchase the game.

There has been additional confirmation that Overwatch will not receive downloadable content packs or paid content via micro-transactions as Blizzard wanted to ensure fair and balanced team game play. Any new content will be made available via a patch or download and will be freely available to all players.