Oscar 2016: Full Winner’s List

Miss the Academy Awards this year? No sweat. We’ve got you covered.

Chris Rock hosted the 88th Annual Academy Awards (Oscars.com)
Chris Rock hosted the 88th Annual Academy Awards (Oscars.com).

You’ve watched the films, made your predictions, and popped the popcorn for Hollywood’s biggest night: the 88th Annual Academy Awards!

So what happened? Fell asleep on the couch? Power went out? Forgot to set the PVR?

No worries - we have the coverage of all of the nominees and winners in this year’s big award show.

Best Picture

WINNER: Spotlight — Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust

Other Nominees:
    The Big Short — Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner
    Bridge of Spies — Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt and Kristie Macosko Krieger
    Brooklyn — Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey
    Mad Max: Fury Road — Doug Mitchell and George Miller
    The Martian — Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer and Mark Huffam
    The Revenant — Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent and Keith Redmon
    Room — Ed Guiney

Best Actor

WINNER: Leonardo DiCaprio — The Revenant
Other Nominees:
    Brian Cranston — Trumbo
    Matt Damon — The Martian
    Michael Fassbender — Steve Jobs
    Eddie Redmayne — The Danish Girl

Best Actress

WINNER: Brie Larson — Room

Other Nominees:
    Cate Blanchett — Carol
    Jennifer Lawrence — Joy
    Charlotte Rampling — 45 Years
    Saoirse Ronan — Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Mark Rylance — Bridge of Spies

Other Nominees:
    Christian Bale — The Big Short
    Tom Hardy — The Revenant
    Mark Ruffalo — Spotlight
    Sylvester Stallone — Creed

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Alicia Vikander — The Danish Girl

Other Nominees:
    Jennifer Jason Leigh — The Hateful Eight
    Rooney Mara — Carol
    Rachel McAdams — Spotlight
    Kate Winslet — Steve Jobs


WINNER:     Alejandro González Iñárritu — The Revenant

Other Nominees:
    Adam McKay — The Big Short
    George Miller — Mad Max: Fury Road
   Lenny Abrahamson — Room
    Tom McCarthy — Spotlight

Production Design

WINNER: Mad Max: Fury Road — Colin Gibson (Production Design); Lisa Thompson (Set Decoration)

Other Nominees:
    Bridge of Spies — Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich (Set Decoration)
    The Danish Girl — Eve Stewart (Production Design); Michael Standish (Set Decoration)
    The Martian — Arthur Max (Production Design); Celia Bobak (Set Decoration)
    The Revenant — Jack Fisk (Production Design); Hamish Purdy (Set Decoration)


WINNER:     Emmanuel Lubezki — The Revenant

Other Nominees:
    Ed Lachman — Carol
    Robert Richardson — The Hateful Eight
    John Seale — Mad Max: Fury Road
    Roger Deakins — Sicario

Film Editing

WINNER:     Mad Max: Fury Road — Margaret Sixel

Other Nominees:
    The Big Short — Hank Corwin
    The Revenant — Stephen Mirrione
    Spotlight — Tom McArdle
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens — Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Adapted Screenplay

WINNER:     The Big Short — Adam McKay and Charles Randolph

Other Nominees:
    Brooklyn — Nick Hornby
    Carol — Phyllis Nagy
    The Martian — Drew Goddard
    Room — Emma Donoghue

Original Screenplay

WINNER:    Spotlight — Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy

Other Nominees:
    Bridge of Spies — Matt Charman, Joel & Ethan Coen
    Ex Machina — Alex Garland
    Inside Out — Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, Ronnie del Carmin
    Straight Outta Compton — Andrea Berloff, Jonathan Herman, S.

Leigh Savidge, Alan Wenkus, Andrea Berloff

Costume Design

WINNER:     Mad Max: Fury Road — Jenny Beavan

Other Nominees:
    Carol — Sandy Powell
    Cinderella — Sandy Powell
    The Danish Girl — Paco Delgado
    The Revenant — Jacqueline West

Visual Effects

WINNER:     Ex Machina — Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Other Nominees:
    Mad Max: Fury Road — Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams
    The Martian — Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
    The Revenant — Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens — Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

Original Score

WINNER:     The Hateful Eight — Ennio Morricone

Other Nominees:
    Bridge of Spies — Thomas Newman
    Carol — Carter Burwell
    Sicario — Jóhann Jóhannsson
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens — John Williams

Sound Editing

WINNER:     Mad Max: Fury Road — Mark Mangini and David White

Other Nominees:
    The Martian — Oliver Tarney
    The Revenant — Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender
    Sicario — Alan Robert Murray
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens — Matthew Wood and David Acord

Sound Mixing

WINNER:     Mad Max: Fury Road — Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo

Other Nominees:
    Bridge of Spies — Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin
    The Martian — Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
    The Revenant — Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens — Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Original Song

WINNER:     "Writing's On The Wall" — Spectre

Other Nominees:
    "Earned It" — Fifty Shades of Grey
    "Manta Ray" — Racing Extinction
    "Simple Song #3" — Youth
    "Til It Happens To You" — The Hunting Ground

Documentary Feature

WINNER:     Amy — Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Other Nominees:
    Cartel Land — Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
    The Look of Silence — Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
    What Happened, Miss Simone — Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes
    Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom — Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Documentary Short Subject

WINNER:     A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness — Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Other Nominees:
    Body Team 12 – David Darg and Bryn Mooser
    Chau, Beyond the Lines — Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
    Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah — Adam Benzine
    Last Day of Freedom — Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman

Makeup & Hairstyling

WINNER:     Mad Max: Fury Road — Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, Damian Martin

Other Nominees:
    The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared — Love Larson, Eva von Bahr
    The Revenant — Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman, Robert Pandini

Animated Feature Film

WINNER:     Inside Out — Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Other Nominees:
    Anomalisa — Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson and Rosa Tran
    Boy and the World — Alê Abreu
    Shaun the Sheep Movie — Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
    When Marnie Was There — Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Animated Short Film

WINNER:     Bear Story — Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala

Other Nominees:
    Prologue — Richard Williams and Imogen Sutton
    Sanjay's Super Team — Sanjay Patel and Nicole Grindle
    We Can't Live without Cosmos — Konstantin Bronzit
    World of Tomorrow — Don Hertzfeldt

Live Action Short Film

WINNER:     Stutterer — Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Other Nominees:
    Ave Maria — Basil Khalil and Eric Dupont
    Day One — Henry Hughes
    Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut) —  Patrick Vollrath
    Shok — Jamie Donoughue

Foreign Language Film

WINNER:     Son of Saul — Hungary; Directed by László Nemes

Other Nominees:

    Embrace of the Serpent — Colombia; Directed by Ciro Guerra
    Mustang — France; Directed by Deniz Gamze Ergüven
    Theeb — Jordan; Directed by Naji Abu Nowar
    A War — Denmark; Directed by Tobias Lindholm