How to Move Photos to a Custom Album on the iPad

The iPad automatically organizes your photos into "collections". These collections sort your photos by date and create groupings that consist of photos taken over the course of a few days or a few weeks. But what if you want to organize your photos a different way?

It's easy enough to create a custom album in the Photos app, but if you want to move some of your old photos into the newly-created album, it can get a little confusing.

First, let's look at how to create the album.

  1. First, open the Photos app and navigate to the Albums tab by tapping the button at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Next, tap the plus (+) sign in the top-left corner of the screen. If you see "< Albums" instead of a plus sign, you are already in an album. Tap the "< Albums" button to get to the main Albums screen and then tap the plus sign.
  3. Type in a name for your new Album.
  4. When you initially create an album, you will be taken to the "Moments" section of your Collections to move photos to your newly created album. You can scroll through your Moments and tap any photos you want to move to the album. You can also tap "Albums" at the bottom and select photos from other albums.
  5. Tap Done at the top-right corner of the screen to stop selecting photos and to move those photos into the newly-created album.

That's simple enough, but what if you missed a photo?   If you want to move photos into the album later, you will need to go through the selection screen.

  ​Learn how to attach a photo to an email message.

  1. First, navigate to the album where the photo is located.
  2. Tap the Select button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Tap any photos you want to move to the album.
  4. To move the photos, tap the "Add To" button at the top of the screen. It is on the left side next to the trash can.
  1. A new window appears with all of your albums listed. Simply tap the album and your photos will be copied.

Did you make a mistake? You can delete photos from an album without deleting the original. However, if you delete the original, it will be deleted from all albums. You will be prompted with a message that will tell you the photo is being deleted from all albums, so there's no need to worry about accidentally deleting the original. (You can also undelete photos if you do happen to make a mistake.)