Features of the Kindle 3 Model

An overview of the Kindle 3G and Wi-Fi features

Bedtime stories
PeopleImages / Getty Images

Following its successful Kindle 1 and Kindle 2 eBook readers, Amazon continued its best-selling eReader lineup with the introduction of the Kindle 3 models. Here's an overview of the features of the third-generation edition of the Kindle e-reader family.

3G and Wi-Fi Features

Launched on July 28, 2010, the Kindle 3 was offered in two models -- a 3G version with Wi-Fi and a Wi-Fi-only version without 3G.

Besides 3G capability and a slight 0.2-ounce difference in weight, the Kindle 3G and Kindle Wi-Fi were essentially the same device. Both sported a new E Ink screen with 50 percent better contrast than the Kindle 2. Both were also lighter than the previous Kindles, which weighed 10.2 ounces. The Kindle 3G weighed 8.7 ounces while the Kindle Wi-Fi was 8.5 ounces. The Kindle 3 line sported a body 21 percent smaller but still retained the same reading area size of previous models, which was 6 inches.

Other improvements included 20-percent faster page turns; an increased capacity of 3,500 eBooks; an enhanced PDF reader with notes and highlight functions, along with a dictionary lookup; quieter buttons; and an experimental Web browser. Battery life is about a month with wireless turned off for both devices. Battery life for the 3G version is 10 days with 3G on, and three weeks for the Wi-Fi model with Wi-Fi on. 3G access is free on the Kindle 3G.

The Kindle 3 lineup retained features such as Text-to-Speech and Whispersync. Text-to-Speech allows the Kindle to read text out loud while Whispersync allows users to read eBooks across multiple devices via the Kindle app and pick up where they left off. The Kindle 3 lineup was available in two colors: white and graphite.

For more on eBook readers, check out our list of the Best eReaders on the market today.

The Latest Kindle E-Readers

Since the Kindle 3's debut, Amazon has launched a whole slew of Kindle devices, which include tablet versions of its popular device lineup. For fans of E Ink, Amazon's selection includes the entry-level Kindle, which features a 6-inch touchscreen and serves as the entry-level reader in the company's E Ink lineup. Amazon also launched an improved Kindle Paperwhite, which features a higher resolution screen and adjustable lighting. Next is the super-thin Kindle Voyage, which adds adaptive lighting as well as a PagePress interface for easier and more intuitive page turns. Finally, at the top of the line for Amazon E Ink readers is the Kindle Oasis, which boasts a 7-inch display, waterproof design, and built-in Audible audiobook capabilities.

In addition to their traditional E Ink readers, Amazon has added a kid-friendly version, Kindle for Kids, which allows young readers to set reading goals and track progress. Parents will appreciate the Zero Distraction feature -- screen-time isn't accessible using this device, as it can only be used solely for reading, not to mention the included 2-year worry free guarantee.