Email, Messaging, & Video Calls Email What to Do if Yahoo Mail Deletes Your Inactive Account Keep your Yahoo account active by logging in regularly by Heinz Tschabitscher Writer A former freelance contributor who has reviewed hundreds of email programs and services since 1997. our editorial process Heinz Tschabitscher Updated on November 22, 2019 Email Yahoo! Mail Gmail Tweet Share Email Yahoo Mail periodically deactivates unused accounts. If your account is deactivated, you won't have access to emails, attachments, and the other elements of your account. Learn why Yahoo deletes old email accounts and how to keep your Yahoo email account active. Information in this article applies to the web versions of Yahoo Mail as well as the Yahoo Mail mobile app for iOS and Android. Why Yahoo Mail Deactivates Accounts If you go more than a year without logging into your Yahoo Mail account, Yahoo may delete your messages from its servers to make room for other users. Inactive accounts slow down the service for everyone, so keeping servers clean allows Yahoo Mail to be fast and reliable for those who use it. Aside from inactivity, Yahoo might close your account if you request Yahoo to delete your account or violate the Yahoo terms of service. Tim Robberts/Getty Images If your mail account has been deactivated, you'll see a message when you log in. It might say your account's been deactivated or that you're unable to reset your password. How to Keep Your Yahoo Account Active To make sure your Yahoo Mail account stays active, log in every now and then. If you use multiple email providers, sync your other email accounts with Yahoo Mail so that you get all your messages in one place. That way, you can read your emails in Yahoo Mail, and you'll prevent your account from getting deleted. What to Do If Your Email Account Is Inactive If your account was deactivated within the past 90 days, you may be able to restore it by contacting Yahoo Mail support. Otherwise, sign up for a new account. After your account is deleted, your screen name becomes available to new users. If someone claims it, you'll need a different screen name for your new account.