How Do You Unsend an Email With Gmail?

Set Gmail to pause before sending to stop delivery of errant emails

icon of email being sent
Lifewire

Did you just send that message to Sam W. instead of Sam G.? It may not be too late to take it back. If you use Gmail on the web or through a native mobile app, you should be able to unsend the message you just sent.

Gmail can be set to pause for up to 30 seconds before it delivers your emails after you click Send. You can recall an email and recover from false recipients, spelling mistakes, a poorly worded subject, and forgotten attachments.

Gmail lets you unsend emails only if you have enabled the Undo Send feature, which is not turned on by default.

Enable Undo Send in Gmail on the Web

To have Gmail delay the delivery of sent messages for a few seconds so you can retrieve them:

  1. Click the Settings gear in Gmail.
  2. Select Settings from the menu that appears.
  3. Go to the General tab.
  4. In the Undo Send section, place a check next to Enable Undo Send.
  5. Select the number of seconds Gmail should pause before sending emails. The choices range from 5 to 30 seconds.
  6. Click Save Changes.

How to Unsend an Email With Gmail

After you enable the Undo Send feature in Gmail, you can retrieve an email immediately after you send it. When you send an email in Gmail and realize you need to make a change to it, you have a couple of ways to recall it:

  • Click Undo in the message that appears above the Gmail screen next to Your message has been sent after you send a message. You'll see a confirming Sending has been undone notification in the same area if you click Undo within the time frame you set up.
  • Press the Z key promptly after you send a message. The same Sending has been undone confirmation appears at the top of the Gmail screen.

Make any desired changes to the message and send it again.

How to Unsend an Email With Gmail Mobile App

To recall an email immediately after you send it in a Gmail mobile app for iOS or Android mobile devices, promptly tap Undo at the bottom of the screen.