How to Unsave Messages on Snapchat

KonMari your Snapchat convos

A screenshot of a smartphone screen showing the Snapchat app.

Pixabay

When you chat with a friend or a group of friends on Snapchat, those messages will automatically be cleared from the chat box after you navigate away from it. Luckily, you can optionally save and unsave Snapchat messages that are temporarily important.

Why Save and Unsave Snapchat Messages?

If you or a friend you're chatting with shares a piece of information that's worth remembering, it can be helpful to save it so that you can access it later. When that piece of information is no longer of any need to you or your Snapchat friends, you can clean up your chat by unsaving it.

The following instructions apply to the iOS and Android Snapchat apps, though the screenshots are from an iPhone. Android users should be able to follow along but might notice some small differences.

How to Unsave a Snapchat Message

  1. Open the individual or group chat box that has your saved message (or messages) by tapping it. You might be able to access the chat on your conversations tab, or you can search for the friend or group name using the search function at the top.

  2. All saved messages are highlighted in gray; identify the one that you want to unsave.

    You can't select multiple saved messages in bulk to unsave them. So if you have saved messages in multiple different chats with friends or groups, you'll have to open each one individually.

    A screenshot of the Snapchat app.
  3. There are two ways you can unsave a message:

    • Tap the saved message. An "Unsaved" label will appear to the left of it for a second or two before it quickly disappears.
    • Tap and hold the saved message to see a list of options pop up over the screen. Tap Unsave in Chat to unsave it.
    Two screenshots of the Snapchat app.

    The first way is the fastest given that it only requires a single tap.

  4. Once you've successfully unsaved a message, it will no longer be highlighted in gray. When you navigate away from the chat, the message you unsaved will be permanently deleted and will not be viewable again when you return to the chat.

You can save and unsave a message as many times as you want as long as you don't exit the chat. Tap the message and a "Saved" label will appear to the left of it for a second or two and the message will turn gray again.

How Unsaving Snapchat Messages Works

When you save a Snapchat message, everyone in the chat will be able to see it as long as it remains saved. In other words, if you save a message for yourself, you're also saving it for everybody else to see too.

Likewise, when someone else in the chat saves a message, it saves for everyone. If you unsaved a message but it remains highlighted in gray and doesn't disappear when you exit the chat, then somebody else has saved it. Unfortunately, you can't unsave a message on behalf of someone else. So if everybody in a group chat saved a message, everybody would also have to unsave it for it to disappear from the app. You'll have to ask the other chat participants to unsave the message on their side if you want to delete it permanently.

If you want to see who saved a message in a group chat, tap and hold it; you should see a "Saved by: Name" label beneath the Save/Unsave in Chat option.

Finally, if you clear your conversations from your settings tab, but have previously saved messages in those conversations, that will not unsave them. Clearing conversations only removes them from your main conversations tab. You'll need to follow the instructions above to unsave your saved messages.