How to Stop Netflix Autoplay

You can disable the feature if it annoys you

Netflix has an autoplay feature on its home screen that not everyone appreciates; new TV shows or movies will automatically begin playing if you don't move quickly enough. The good news is that you can easily stop those automatic previews if they annoy you.

The feature is designed to entice viewers into watching something they might not have previously considered by showing them a scene from the movie or television show. Depending upon the scene, viewers can be startled by the noise. Some simply prefer to read the show details without the sound of the scene.

If that sounds like you then you'll want to turn off that autoplay feature for your profile. If you prefer, you can also learn what's on Netflix without seeing those previews or messing around with your profile at all.

This feature cannot be disabled across all user profiles in one fell swoop. Other users on the account can elect to turn it off or keep it on; each profile must be adjusted individually.

How to Turn Off Netflix Autoplay

To disable this feature on a profile, follow these steps.

  1. Sign in to your Netflix account.

  2. In the upper right corner, click the down arrow the Profile box. (The little square with a smiley face or a customized image you might have chosen.)

    Netflix home page Profile section
  3. Click Manage Profiles.

  4. Click the profile you want to update.

    Netflix Manage Profiles screen profiles
  5. Under Autoplay controls, you can uncheck one or both of the following options:

    • Autoplay next episode in a series on all devices.
    • Autoplay previews while browsing on all devices.
    Netflix Edit Profile screen
  6. Once you've made your selection(s), click Save.

  7. On the Manage Profiles screen, click Done.

    Netflix Manage Profiles screen with Done button

How to Turn On Autoplay in Netflix

Missing those automatic previews? Using the steps above, just go back and recheck the box(es) you previously deselected. Click Save, then click Done on the Manage Profiles screen and you'll be back in autoplay land.