Social Media Snapchat How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on Snapchat Confirm if a friend has blocked or deleted you or deleted their account Share Pin Email Print Snapchat Facebook Flipboard Pinterest Twitter Snapchat Instagram YouTube Online Dating By Elise Moreau Freelance Contributor Elise Moreau is a writer that has covered social media, texting, messaging, and streaming for Lifewire. Her work has appeared on Techvibes, SlashGear, Lifehack and others. our editorial process Facebook Twitter Elise Moreau Updated February 06, 2020 If a friend appears to have disappeared from Snapchat and left you wondering whether they blocked you from their account, this article is for you. Snapchat doesn't send out notifications to users who've been blocked, so if you suspect you have been, you'll have to do the investigative work yourself to confirm it. Luckily, it's not very hard. Here are the main steps you should take to tell if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. Lifewire / Alex Dos Diaz Check Your Recent Conversations The first big clue that can tell you whether a user has blocked you is by looking at whether they show up in your recent conversations. Obviously, this step is only useful if you've had a recent conversation with the user who might have blocked you before clearing your conversations. Open the Snapchat app and navigate to the conversations tab by tapping the speech bubble icon at the bottom of the screen to the left of the camera snap button. If the user who you suspect blocked you isn't appearing in your Conversations list despite having a recent conversation with them, that's a big clue, however, you still need to move on to the next step to confirm the block. Alternatively, it's possible that you didn't have a recent conversation with the user who might have blocked you, or you simply forgot that you cleared your conversations. If this is the case, your recent conversations won't tell you anything and you will still need to complete the next step to get more information about whether or not that user has actually blocked you. Search Their Username or Full Name If a user has blocked you, they won't show up when you search for them within Snapchat. If they've simply deleted you from their Friends list, however, you should be able to find them by searching for them. It's important to understand the difference between being blocked and being deleted on Snapchat. If a user blocked you, you won't find any trace of their account and you will be unable to contact them in any way from your blocked account. If a user simply deleted you from their Friends list, you'll still find them in your own Friends list and you'll be able to continue sending them snaps. Depending on their privacy settings, however, they may not actually receive your snap if they only allow their friends to contact them. To search for the user who you suspect blocked you, tap the search function at the top of the screen on the conversations tab or snap tab, marked by a magnifying glass icon. Start typing the username or full name of the user you want to look up. You'll get more accurate results if you know the user's username. There could be several other users with similar full names to the user you're searching, but usernames are all unique. Likewise, full names can be changed anytime (meaning you could be searching for a name without knowing that it was changed) whereas usernames can never be changed. If the user shows up in search results, they'll appear under the My Friends label in you're still in their Friends list or under the Add A Friend label if they deleted you from their Friends list. If the user you're looking for doesn't show up at all despite searching for their exact username, then they either blocked you or deleted their Snapchat account. Search Their Username or Full Name From a Different Account Being unable to find the user you searched for in the last step increases the likelihood that they blocked you, however, this is still not enough to confirm it. To confirm that they have indeed blocked you, you'll have to actually find evidence that their Snapchat account still exists. The only way to do this is by searching for the user from an unblocked account. You have two options: Ask a friend to search for the user from their account.Sign out of your account and create a brand new account to search for that user. The first option is the easiest because it means you won't have to do all the extra work involved with signing up for a new account. Just pick a friend, relative, coworker or other acquaintance who's on Snapchat and is ideally isn't associated with the user you're looking for. Ask them to search for the user by their username (if you know it) or their full name. If you instead decide to create a new account, you'll have to sign out of your existing Snapchat account or download the app to a different mobile device if you have access to one. Tap the blue Sign Up button to create your new account. Snapchat will ask you to provide your full name, a username, an email, and a password to complete the account creation process. You'll also be asked to enter a phone number to use for verification purposes, but you can skip this step. Now go ahead and either instruct your friend or use your new account to repeat step two above. If you or your friend happen to be successful in finding the user account you were looking for, then that's enough to confirm that they have indeed blocked you. Realize Maybe Snapchat Wasn't for Them If none of these steps work, it's possible that your friend may have just deleted their account.