How to Sign Out of Gmail

Privacy concerns make logging out of your account a smart idea

Staying logged in to Gmail on a device that others use could expose your account to unauthorized access. Anyone who has access to your Gmail can reset passwords and cause other problems. To avoid these problems, sign out of Gmail when you're not using it.

If you forget to sign out after you use Gmail on someone else's device, do it remotely. You can also stop a device from using your Gmail account if it gets stolen or lost.

These instructions cover how to sign out of Gmail from any computer or from an iPhone or Android device.

How to Log Out of the Gmail Desktop Website

Log out of Gmail on a computer in two simple steps.

  1. In the upper-right corner of Gmail, select your profile photo or initials.

    Profile pic in Gmail
  2. At the bottom of the menu, select Sign out.

    The Sign Out button in Gmail
  3. To sign out of another account you're logged into, choose Sign out of all accounts.

    This signs you out of all your Gmail accounts, so you may need to log in to the one you want to access.

How to Log Out of Gmail on the Mobile Website

If you use Gmail through the mobile website, the steps for logging out are slightly different.

  1. From Gmail.com, in the upper-left corner of the screen, tap the three horizontally stacked lines.

  2. At the top of the screen, tap your email address.

    On the iPad version, tap your email address at the bottom of the page and then tap Sign out.

  3. On the bottom of the screen, tap Sign out of all accounts.

    Optionally, you can remove the Gmail accounts from the list of accounts that were signed in. After signing out, tap Remove to select the accounts you want to delete from the page.

    Signing out of Gmail's mobile site

How to Sign Out of the Gmail Mobile App

Signing out of Gmail from the mobile app requires that you remove the account from your phone or tablet. This doesn't delete your Gmail account. It only removes it from your phone until you log back in.

  1. From the Gmail app, tap the image in the upper-right corner.

  2. Select Manage accounts.

  3. Tap the switch next to the account you want to turn off to deactivate it temporarily.

    Deactivating an account in the Gmail app
  4. Return to this screen and tap the switch again to turn the account back on.

Revoke Access to Your Google Account

There isn't a way to sign out of Gmail using the main account on an Android. However, from the Your devices area of your Google account, you can prevent the device from accessing your entire Google account, including your Gmail. This is useful if you lost the device or forgot to log out of a device you can no longer access.

  1. From a computer, sign in to your Gmail account.

  2. Select your Google profile picture near the upper-right corner of the page.

    Profile pic in Gmail
  3. Select Manage your Google Account.

    The "Manage your Google Account" button
  4. Select Security.

    The Security section in Google Account
  5. Scroll down to Your devices, then select Manage devices.

    The Manage Devices button in Google Account
  6. Select the More Menu for the device you want to block from accessing your Gmail account.

    The More menu in "Your Devices"
  7. Select Sign out. Confirm your decision in the next window.

    Sign out in "Your Devices"