How to Remove Followers on Twitter

Keep your feed clean and stress-free

There’s no official way to force another account to unfollow you on Twitter, which makes sense, as any removed account could start following you again soon afterward. There is, however, a strategy that can be used to delete followers on Twitter and prevent them from following you again. Here’s how to remove followers on Twitter and stop them from following you again.

Don’t worry. You won’t be permanently blocking anyone. Unless you choose to.

How to Remove Twitter Followers

This strategy requires the use of the account privacy settings and the blocking feature.

While your followers won’t be notified when you do this, they will be able to tell that they’ve unfollowed you if they view your profile or notice a lack of tweets from you in their feed.

  1. Open the Twitter app on your Windows 10, iOS, or Android device. You can also open the official Twitter website in a browser such as Edge, Brave, Firefox, or Chrome. Any internet browser is fine.

  2. Within the iOS or Android Twitter app, tap your profile image. If you're using Windows 10 or the web version of Twitter, select the ellipsis (...) or where it says MORE on the side menu.

    On the web version of Twitter, you can also select your profile image in the top right corner.

  3. Select Settings and privacy > Privacy and safety.

  4. Tap the Protect your Tweets toggle switch. On the web version, select Protect your Tweets. This makes your Twitter account private and requires every future follower to be manually approved by you before they can see your content.

    iOS Twitter app on an iPhone

    Setting your Twitter account to private is not recommended if you're trying to build your brand or promote a service or product as none of your tweets will be discoverable by the general public.

  5. Now, select your Twitter profile image once again.

  6. On Windows 10 and web, you should now be on your profile. If you’re using iOS or Android, tap Profile from the menu to get here.

  7. Tap Followers. You’re now going to go through your list of followers and manually block, then unblock each account you don’t want following you.

    Twitter profile follower list in the iOS Twitter app

    Blocking an account stops them from following you, but it also prevents you from seeing their content. Unblocking a blocked account shows their content again and maintains the unfollow action performed by the initial block. The affected accounts just see they’ve mysteriously unfollowed you and nothing more. They will not know that they were blocked for a few seconds.

  8. From your Followers list, tap an account to go to the person's profile.

  9. Tap the ellipsis in the top-right corner.

    On the web version of Twitter, you can select the ellipses without viewing someone's full profile.

  10. Select Block.

  11. Select Block in the confirmation screen.

    Blocking an account in the iOS Twitter app
  12. Tap the large Blocked button.

  13. Tap Unblock at the bottom of the screen. The account is unblocked, and the person is no longer following you.

    Unblocking an account in the iOS Twitter app