How to Delete Facebook Posts in Bulk

Use the Manage Activity tool to do a mass removal of old posts

Deleting Facebook posts one by one is a time-consuming process. Instead, here's how to delete all Facebook posts and do a mass removal of your old social life. You can also archive your activity with the Manage Activity tool.

Instructions in this article apply to Facebook in a web browser and in the mobile app.

Bulk Delete Posts Using Facebook in a Web Browser

The first step to deleting your old Facebook posts is to select the posts you no longer want (up to 50 at a time). There are a couple of ways to do that, including filtering posts if you want to delete something specific.

  1. Go to Facebook.com or open the Facebook app and sign in to your account. Select your name or profile icon in the upper-left sidebar or in the menu bar to go to your profile.

    The Profile button on Facebook
  2. Select Manage Posts located beneath the post composer.

    The Manage Posts button on Facebook
  3. Select Filters to narrow down the available options. You can select specific years, who created the post, privacy levels, and items you're tagged in.

    Take advantage of the filtering options to find the posts you want to delete. The filters are especially helpful for finding old posts fast without spending time scrolling through your Timeline.

    The filters button in the Manage Posts window
  4. Select the square check box in the upper-right corner of any post thumbnail you want to delete.

    You can only select up to 50 posts to delete at a single time.

    To view the full post on Facebook.com, select the post thumbnail. A window appears that shows the full post, so you can make a decision about whether you want to keep it or delete it.

    A checkbox in the Manage Posts window
  5. When you've chosen all the posts you want to delete, select Next at the bottom of the screen.

    The Next button in Manage Posts
  6. Choose Delete Posts, then select Done.

    Deletion is permanent. If you don't want to permanently delete these posts, hide the posts instead, so they no longer appear on your profile timeline. Select Hide Posts on Facebook.com or tap Hide from timeline on the app. To unhide these posts, go to the Activity Log on your profile and then select the Hidden from timeline tab.

    The "Delete Posts" option and "Done" button

How to Use the Manage Activity Tool in Facebook

In the Manage Activity section of the activity log, you can delete, archive, or restore content. This feature is currently only available on the Facebook mobile app.

  1. Open the Facebook app and sign in to your account.

  2. Select your profile picture in the upper-left corner of the screen to access your profile.

  3. Select More represented by the three dots (...) below your profile picture.

    The More menu on a Facebook profile
  4. In the Profile Settings list, select Activity Log.

  5. At the top of the activity log, select Manage Activity.

  6. In the Manage Activity window that appears, select the type of activity you'd like to view, such as Your Posts.

    Accessing your posts in the Facebook Activity Log
  7. At the top of the activity log, select Filters and choose a filter, such as Categories or Date, if desired.

  8. Select the check box next to any content you wish to archive.

    You can restore archived content at any time by selecting Archive in the activity log, choosing the content, and selecting Restore. However, if you move content to the trash, Facebook permanently deletes it after 30 days.

  9. Choose Archive. Alternatively, select Trash to delete the content.

    Archiving posts in the Facebook app

Can't Delete Some Posts?

You might notice that when you try to delete some posts, the deletion option is grayed out, and you can only select the hide option. This might occur for specific posts like profile picture updates, posts that weren't created by you, or posts with particular privacy settings.

For posts you're unable to delete using the manage posts option, you can delete those posts individually. Find the posts on your Timeline, select the three dots in the upper-right corner of the individual post, and select Delete.

Consider limiting your past posts in your settings, so previous posts you shared with friends of friends or the public are changed to be shared with only your friends. On Facebook.com, select the down arrow then choose Settings > Privacy > Limit Past Posts. Select Limit Past Posts to confirm. This setting doesn't appear to be accessible in the mobile app.