Software & Apps Google Drive How to Make an Event Private in Google Calendar When you share, it doesn't have to be everything by Heinz Tschabitscher Writer A former freelance contributor who has reviewed hundreds of email programs and services since 1997. our editorial process Heinz Tschabitscher Updated on January 27, 2020 S3studio / Getty Images Google Drive Docs Sheets Slides Tweet Share Email Sharing your Google Calendar with someone might make life more convenient. Now when you want to plan something together, you can skip the "Are you available?" conversation. But, if having the other person know your every appointment is a bit too much, you can selectively choose to make some of them private. Hide a Single Event in Google Calendar To make sure an event or appointment is not visible on a shared calendar in Google Calendar: Double-click the desired appointment. Select Private under Privacy. If Privacy is not available, make sure the Options box is open. Select Save. Note that all other owners of the calendar (i.e., people with whom you share the calendar and who has permission to either Make Changes to Events or Make Changes and Manage Sharing) can still see and edit the event. Everybody else will see "busy" but no event details. Sharing Options in a Shared Google Calendar When you share your Google calendar with someone, you can choose how much information they can see about your scheduled events. These options include: See only free/busy. This is the default sharing option and it provides the least risk. The person who shares the calendar with this setting can only see whether you are available or busy at a specified time and date. See all event details. This privilege level allows the person sharing the calendar to see all of your events and the details. Make changes to events. With this privilege level, the person with whom you are sharing your calendar can see all of the details to all of the events and edit them. Make changes to events and manage sharing. This is the most comprehensive privilege level. The person with whom you are sharing your calendar can see, change, and share your calendar with anyone they choose.