How to Make a Private Story on Snapchat

Share moments from your day with select friends

A Snapchat story is great for showing your friends quick moments of your day, but what if you want to share with only certain friends? You can do this by making Private Stories through the custom option on the Snapchat app. We show you how.

The following instructions can be followed by anyone using the most recent version of the Snapchat app for iOS or Android.

My Stories vs. Private Stories in Snapchat

When you take a photo or record a video, your story is posted publicly and viewable by all your friends (depending on your Snapchat privacy settings). A Private Story involves creating a Custom Story first. Once you create one, you can then make it private.

Unlike My Stories, Private Stories let you select exactly who you want to view your post before you publish it. Nobody else but you can add content to your Private Stories.

How to Make a Private Story in Snapchat

There are two different ways you can create Private Stories: from the main Snap tab and from your profile. We detail both methods below.

How to Make a Private Story From the Snap Tab

The Snap tab refers to the area of the app where your device's camera is activated so you can take a photo or record a video. To locate it, tap the circle in the bottom center of any tab, or by swiping left or right from the Conversations tab or the Discover tab.

  1. Snap a photo or record a video in the Snap tab.

    Alternatively, upload a photo or video.

  2. Tap the Send To icon in the bottom right.

  3. Select +New Story > Private Story (Only I can post).

    Screenshots depicting how to create a private story in Snapchat.
  4. You're shown your list of Best Friends, Recents, Groups, and Friends. Select the contacts you want to view your Private Story.

    Selected friends/groups have a blue checkmark included with their profile photo. Before you move on to the next step to post your Private Story, you can tap any selected friend/group to deselect them if you change your mind.

  5. Tap the checkmark to post your Private Story.

    Private Stories have a padlock icon on them to distinguish them from My Stories. Friends that can view your Private Stories see them mixed in with My Stories (although on some Android devices, they may appear separately).

How to Make a Private Story From Your Profile

Alternatively, you can create a new Private Story from your profile page instead of the Snap tab. Here's how:

  1. From your profile, tap + New Story.

  2. Tap Private Story.

  3. Browse through your list of Best Friends, Recents, Groups, and Friends to select the people you want to view your Private Story.

  4. When you're done adding people, tap the checkmark in the bottom right.

    A Snapchat profile with the + New Story and Private Story options highlighted
  5. From here, you can:

    • Tap Private Story Name at the top to type in a name for your Private Story.
    • Tap View this Story if you want to add anyone you may have left out.
    • Disable or enable the Auto-Save to Memories checkbox to omit saving or include saving of your Private Story to your Memories.

    You won't be able to select Add to this Story since all Private Stories can only be added to by their creator (you).

  6. Tap the blue Create Story button to publish your Private Story. You can see the name of your newly created Private Story listed under your Stories section on your Profile. Tap it to access the Snap tab to take your first photo or record your first video.

    You can also add to your Private Story when taking or recording photos. From the main Snap tab tap Send to, then tap the Private Story name under the Stories label.

  7. To add more photos and videos to your Private Story, tap the three vertical dots to the right of the Private Story name on your profile, then tap Add to Story.

    Create Story, three dot menu, Add to Story button in Snapchat

Doing More With Private Stories

If you ever want to change something about your Private Story, you can do so from your profile. Tap the three vertical dots beside its name. From here, you can delete it, change the story settings, turn the auto-save option on/off, or manually save the story to Memories (if auto-save is off).