Software & Apps Windows How to Factory Reset Windows 7 Start over with a fresh install or backup by Tim Fisher General Manager, VP, Lifewire.com Tim Fisher has 30+ years' professional technology support experience. He writes troubleshooting content and is the General Manager of Lifewire. our editorial process Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Tim Fisher Updated on February 01, 2020 Windows The Ultimate Laptop Buying Guide Tweet Share Email A Windows 7 factory reset is helpful if Windows 7 can’t be repaired. If you’ve tried everything you can to fix errors or repair whatever is preventing Windows 7 from being used normally, a factory reset would be the best way to get the operating system back in normal working order. Unfortunately, unlike Windows 10 and Windows 8 which have a built-in reset option, factory resetting Windows 7 might require a bit more work. But as long as you follow along closely, it's a process easy enough for anyone to complete. Windows 7 is no longer supported by Microsoft. For fresh security updates and new features, we recommend upgrading to Windows 10. What Does a Windows 7 Factory Reset Do? A true factory reset, also called a factory restore, reverts Windows 7 back to the state it was in when it was first installed on the computer. Returning Windows 7 to the way it was when it left the factory is where this term gets its name. When your first got your computer or when you first installed Windows 7 (if you did it yourself), it had only the essentials—the Internet Explorer browser and maybe a few extra tools depending on the manufacturer. Resetting Windows 7 deletes everything but those default items. All your personal files will be erased and any and all programs you installed will be deleted. However, depending on the method you use, resetting Windows 7 might also delete Windows updates and drivers. Or, if you reset Windows 7 with a backup, it could restore old files and programs. Be sure to read carefully to learn what the Windows 7 reset you choose will and will not restore. How to Factory Reset Windows 7 There are a few ways to perform a Windows 7 factory reset: With a Windows 7 installation DVD or an external hard drive that has the operating system files on it. This will erase everything on the computer and restore only the files that come with a new Windows 7 installation.Use a recovery disc or partition that came with your new computer. This is the closest thing to a true factory reset for Windows 7.Restore a full system backup that was created by Windows 7 or with a third-party tool. Anything that was backed up to the system image will be restore, which might include all your personal files and custom programs. Before continuing with these directions, confirm that you actually want to reset Windows 7. See the bottom of this page for some alternatives that you might prefer depending on how you plan to use Windows 7 after the reset. Clean Install Windows 7 From a Setup Disc One Windows 7 factory reset technique uses a Windows 7 setup disc. If you have one from installing Windows 7 yourself or if the disc came with the computer when you bought it, you can factory reset Windows 7 this way. This method will erase everything and reinstall Windows 7 from scratch. No customizations or personal files from the current installation will be saved during a clean install. See our How to Clean Install Windows 7 tutorial for a full walkthrough. Factory Reset a Windows 7 HP or Dell Computer Do you have an HP computer that came with Windows 7? Depending on your specific setup, you can reset Windows 7 with a recovery disc or HP’s Recovery Manager software that came built-in to the computer. See HP’s Windows 7 system recovery directions for more on how to do this. If your computer has a Dell Factory Image Restore partition, you can factory reset Windows 7 to reinstall the operating system and restore all the default files and programs that came with your Dell computer. You can also manually reinstall Windows 7 with the Dell Operating System Installation Disc. This is the same thing as a clean Windows 7 install, mentioned above. Visit Dell's Windows 7 factory reset help page for directions over both of these methods and instructions on how to get your Dell drivers reinstalled after the reset. Other manufacturers have similar factory reset methods, like the Toshiba Recovery Wizard and Acer's factory default disc. Use a System Image to Factory Reset Windows 7 If you backed up Windows 7 using the built-in backup utility, you can restore the system image from the Advanced Recovery Methods area of Control Panel. No installation disc necessary! This reset method is only recommended if you made the system image while your computer was still working properly (i.e. it didn't have viruses or corrupt files), and it's especially ideal if the backup contains all your personal files and favorite programs. Since this is simply a backup of whatever was on your computer when you created it, it could contain most of your files, something these other Windows 7 factory reset methods can't do. This way of factory resetting Windows 7 only works if you still have access to Windows, since you need to log in and open the utility. Your backup might be stored on another hard drive, a DVD, or a folder on the network. How-To Geek has a tutorial on resetting Windows 7 this way. Other Windows 7 Reset Options A “factory reset” might mean other things depending on what, exactly, you want accomplished. If you’re selling your computer, you can remove Windows 7 entirely by wiping the hard drive. This will reset the computer to a blank slate, one without any files, programs, or operating system.Resetting Windows 7 to a previous state is called a restore. Using System Restore doesn’t delete Windows 7 or any personal files, but it does revert the operating system to an older state, hopefully fixing any issues with important system files.Some Windows 7 backups are created with third-party tools like Macrium Reflect. If you have a backup of Windows 7 that was created by a specific program, you can use that software's restore utility to reset Windows 7 to the state it was in when the backup was created.