How to Delete Tumblr

Plus, how to delete a Tumblr blog without deleting your account

An image of the Tumblr sign-in tab on a smartphone.

S3studio/Getty Images

If you haven't used Tumblr in years or you recently decided that a secondary blog isn't worth your time, you'll want to know if you can deactivate Tumblr or how to delete your Tumblr account or blog. Keep reading for your answers. It's fast and easy.

Can You Deactivate Tumblr?

Many social networks allow you to temporarily deactivate your account in case you want to reactivate it again later. Unfortunately, Tumblr doesn't have this option.

Once you delete a blog or your whole account, everything from your blog content to the blogs you follow will be gone. Your Tumblr username (username.tumblr.com) will also be lost and up for grabs by anyone who takes it first.

Be certain you want to delete your Tumblr account or blog before you do it, because once it's gone, there's no way to get it (or its content) back.

You can't delete Tumblr blogs or your Tumblr account from the Tumblr mobile app. You have to access it from Tumblr.com in a web browser.

How to Delete Your Tumblr Account

If you don't want a presence on Tumblr anymore, you can delete your entire account and everything with it in a few simple steps.

  1. Select the profile icon in the top right menu.

  2. Select Settings from the dropdown list.

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.
  3. Scroll down to the very bottom of the page and select Delete account.

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.
  4. Confirm deletion of the blog by entering your email address and password in the given fields on the following page, then select Delete everything to permanently delete it.

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.

How to Delete a Secondary Tumblr Blog If You Have Multiple Blogs

You can have multiple Tumblr blogs on the same Tumblr account, and if you do, you can delete them without deleting your entire Tumblr account. But there's a catch—the blog you want to delete without deleting your account can't be your original blog that was set up with your account. This is essentially your primary blog, and unfortunately, your primary blog can't be changed to a secondary blog.

To delete a blog without deleting your account, the blog must be a secondary blog created in addition to your primary blog.

  1. Select the profile icon in the top right menu.

  2. Select the blog you want to delete under the Tumblrs section in the drop-down list.

    If you're already on the blog you want to delete, you'll see a list of options directly underneath its name in the drop-down list that you can select. If not, Tumblr will redirect you to that blog and load the dashboard feed for it.

  3. Select profile > Edit appearance to return to that drop-down list again.

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.
  4. Scroll down to the very bottom of the page and select Delete [blog name].

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.

    If you try to do this on your primary blog, you won't see "Delete [blog name]" as the button text. Instead, you'll see "Delete account." This essentially means that to delete your primary blog, you'll have to delete your entire account.

  5. Confirm deletion of the blog by entering your email address and password in the given fields on the following page, then select Delete [blog name] to permanently delete it.

    A screenshot of Tumblr.com.

Export Your Blog Content Before Deleting Tumblr

Whether you're deleting your whole account or a secondary blog, it might be useful to keep your blog content just in case.

This might be helpful if you're considering moving your content to a new blog platform like Blogger or WordPress—both of which let you import Tumblr blog content.

To export your content, select Edit appearance for the appropriate blog in the drop-down list, scroll down, then select Export [blog name].

If you have a lot of content, this might take a while. Once the backup processing is complete, select Download backup to instantly download your blog content as a ZIP file.

A screenshot of Tumblr.com.