How to Delete a Board on Pinterest

Ditch a Pinterest board all at once

Pinterest boards are great for organizing your pins by topic or category, but once you create a board, it doesn't have to stay on your profile forever. Keep reading to learn how to delete a Pinterest board any time you want.

Why Delete a Pinterest Board?

You might want to delete one or more of your Pinterest boards if:

  • The board is too similar to another board you want to keep.
  • You no longer pin any content to the board.
  • You have many boards you want to cut down on to help make it easier for your followers and visitors to your profile.
  • The board has very few pins.
  • The board has very few followers.
  • The topic of the board no longer interests you.

How to Delete a Pinterest Board

You can delete Pinterest boards from Pinterest.com in a web browser and from the Pinterest mobile apps for iOS and Android. Instructions are provided below for both web and mobile platforms, but screenshots are provided only for the web version.

  1. Navigate to Pinterest.com in a web browser or open the Pinterest app on your device and sign in.

  2. On Pinterest.com, select your profile picture in the upper right corner. On the app, tap your profile picture icon in the bottom menu.

    Profile picture on Pinterest
  3. Make sure Saved is selected.

    Saved in Pinterest boards list
  4. On Pinterest.com, hover your cursor over the board you want to delete and select the pencil icon that appears in the bottom right corner beneath the board. On the app, tap the board you want to delete and then tap the pencil icon at the top of the screen.

    Pinterest board with the pencil highlighted
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the editing options and select Delete (web) or Delete board (app).

    Pinterest screen showing Delete option.

    If you delete a board, you can't restore it or any of its pins. Be sure you want to delete the board and all of its pins before you actually do it.

  6. Select Delete forever to confirm the deletion.

    Pinterest website with Delete forever highlighted

    You can't select multiple boards to delete in bulk. If you have more than one board you want to delete, you have to delete each individually.

How to Archive or Merge Pinterest Boards

If you're hesitant to delete one of your Pinterest boards forever, there are two far less permanent options. Both archiving and merging boards can be chosen in Step 5 above instead of deletion.

Archiving a board essentially takes it off your profile and tells Pinterest to stop giving you recommendations based on its pins. If you want, you can always unarchive it later and restore it to your profile.

You may not want a board anymore, but if the pins it houses are good ones that could fit into another board, you could merge the two. This can be done by turning your unwanted board into a new section on another board.

Any followers the unwanted board had will be lost in favor of the other board's followers.