Gaming Gaming Services How to Delete Epic Games Account Deleting an Epic Games account deletes Fortnite and associated data as well by Brad Stephenson Freelance Contributor Brad Stephenson is a freelance tech and geek culture writer with 12+ years' experience. He writes about Windows 10, Xbox One, and cryptocurrency. our editorial process Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Brad Stephenson Updated on April 01, 2020 Gaming Services Consoles & PCs Cheats & Codes Gaming Services Game Play & Streaming Mobile Gaming Tweet Share Email Trying to delete a Fortnite account can cause a lot of confusion, as the popular online multiplayer game doesn’t use an account system named after itself. Instead, Fortnite uses the Epic Games system for saving games, transferring data, and backing up player progress. In addition to powering Fortnite, Epic Games accounts are used for buying and downloading digital titles from the official Epic Games online storefront. How Epic Games Accounts Work With Fortnite Everyone who has ever played Fortnite will have an Epic Games account, whether they remember signing up for one or not. An Epic Games account is automatically created when Fortnite is played on the Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, or PlayStation 4. While Fortnite player data can be deleted from the cloud, doing so requires the full deletion of the associated Epic Games account, including any digital purchases that may have been made with it. If you want to stop playing Fortnite, simply uninstall the game from your console or gaming device. If you ever decide to play Fortnite again, log into Epic Games and pick up where you left off. Fortnite game progress and items are saved to the cloud via the connected Epic Games account. How to Delete a Fortnite Account Deleting an Epic Games account is easy and can be completed fairly quickly. Follow these instructions to delete your Fortnite account. To delete your Epic Games account, you will need the associated email address and account password. Open your web browser and navigate to the Epic Games website. If you’re not already logged in, select Sign In in the top-right corner and enter your Epic Games username or email and password. Hover your cursor over your Epic Games username in the top-right corner and select Account from the drop-down menu. If you share your computer with other people, make sure you’re logged into the correct account. You don’t want to delete someone else’s by mistake. On the Account Settings page, scroll down to the bottom of the page. Under Delete Account, select Request Account Delete. Deleting an Epic Games account cannot be undone. Be certain you want to delete Fortnite and your associated gaming data before proceeding. A confirmation email containing a six digit code will be sent to the email address associated with your Epic Games account. To avoid losing the on-screen information, check your email in a separate browser tab or window. Enter the email code into the text field on the Epic Games website, then select Confirm Delete Request. A confirmation message will now be shown. Select Done to complete the process. It can take up to two weeks for your account to be completely shut down and for all of your data to be deleted from Epic Games' servers. What Happens When You Delete an Epic Games Account? When you delete an Epic Games account, all of your game data and associated purchases will be erased. This process is permanent and cannot be reversed. Here’s what happens after an Epic Games account deletion: All of your progress in Fortnite is deleted.You'll lose access to any games you bought from Epic Games.Your Epic Games friends list will be erased.Any downloadable content (DLC) like Fortnite’s V-Bucks will also be deleted. How to Unlink an Epic Games Account From a Console If you want to use a different Epic Games account on your Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, or PlayStation 4, you don’t need to permanently delete the account data. Instead, you can unlink it from your console and connect a new one in its place. Unlinking an Epic Games account from a console lets you use a different account on your console while maintaining the original account and all of its data on the Epic Game servers. If you're trying to get rid of one or more multiple accounts, you can merge those Fortnite accounts instead of deleting them. Then, any resources you have will remain, as will your greatest level of progress. Here's how to unlink your console from an Epic Games account: Log into the Epic Games website. Select Connected Accounts from the menu on the left. Select Disconnect under whichever console you want to unlink.