How to Delete an Epic Games Account

Deleting an Epic Games account deletes Fortnite and associated data as well

Trying to delete a Fortnite account can be confusing, as the popular online multiplayer game doesn't use a built-in system to save and track your information.

Instead, Fortnite uses the Epic Games platform to save games, transfer data, and back up player progress. In addition to powering Fortnite, players use Epic Games accounts to buy and download digital titles from the official Epic Games online storefront.

The instructions in this article require a computer, regardless of which platform you use to play Fortnite.

How Epic Games Accounts Work With Fortnite

Everyone who plays Fortnite has an Epic Games account. You create one automatically when you play Fortnite on the Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, or PlayStation 4.

You can delete your Fortnite player data from the cloud. However, deleting your player data requires you to completely remove the associated Epic Games account, including digital purchases you made with it.

To stop playing Fortnite, uninstall the game from your console or gaming device. If you decide to play again later, log in to Epic Games and pick up where you left off. Fortnite game progress and items save to the cloud using the connected Epic Games account.

How to Delete a Fortnite Account

Deleting your Fortnite account takes a few clicks after you sign in. Follow these instructions to delete your Fortnite account.

  1. Hover the cursor over your Epic Games username in the upper-right corner and select Account from the drop-down menu.

    If you share your computer with other people, make sure you log in to the correct account. You don't want to delete someone else's account by mistake.

    The Account link
  2. On the General Settings page, scroll down to the bottom of the page. Next to Delete Account, select Request Account Delete.

    You can't undo deleting an Epic Games account. Be certain you want to delete Fortnite and your associated data before proceeding.

    The Request Account Delete button
  3. A confirmation email containing a six-digit code is sent to the email address associated with your Epic Games account.

    To avoid losing the on-screen information, check your email in a separate browser tab or window.

    Epic Games account deletion email message.
  4. Enter the email code into the text field on the Epic Games website, and then select Confirm Delete Request.

    The Security Code field and Confirm Delete Request button
  5. A question appears asking why you're leaving. Select Skip This or answer it and then select Continue.

  6. Click Done in the window that appears to provide final confirmation that you want to delete your account.

    The Done button
  7. If you aren't automatically logged out, select Logout to complete the process.

    It can take up to two weeks for your account to completely shut down and for all of your data to clear from Epic Games' servers.

What Happens When You Delete an Epic Games Account?

When you delete an Epic Games account, Epic deletes all your game data and associated purchases. This process is permanent.

Here's what happens after an Epic Games account deletion:

  • All your progress in Fortnite is gone.
  • You lose access to any games you bought from Epic Games.
  • Your Epic Games friends list disappears.
  • Any downloadable content (DLC) like Fortnite V-Bucks is removed.

How to Unlink an Epic Games Account From a Console

To use a different Epic Games account on your Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, or PlayStation 4, you don't need to delete the account data permanently. Instead, unlink it from the console and connect a new one in its place.

Unlinking an Epic Games account from a console lets you use a different account on the console while maintaining the original account and its data on the Epic Game servers.

Here's how to unlink your console from an Epic Games account:

  1. Log in to the Epic Games website.

  2. Hover the cursor over your Epic Games username in the upper-right corner and select Account from the drop-down menu.

    The Account link
  3. Select Connected Accounts from the left menu pane.

    The Connected Accounts section
  4. Select Disconnect under the console you want to unlink.

    The Disconnect button