How to Delete Your eBay Account

Leave bidding behind and close your account permanently

What to Know

  • Go to My eBay > Account > Close my account.
  • Under Closing your eBay account, select submit a request to close your account.
  • Select a reason for closing the account and choose Continue. Confirm the deletion.

The article explains how to delete your eBay account. It includes information on the requirements you need to meet before deleting your account and a tip on deactivating rather than deleting the account.

How to Delete an eBay Account

Before you begin the account closing process, make sure everything is in order:

  • You must have no outstanding balances with buyers, sellers, or the site itself. All fees must be paid, and your balance must be zero before you can close your account.
  • You must have no unresolved suspensions or restrictions.
  • You can't be actively bidding on any items. If you are, either cancel those bids or wait for the auction to end before deleting your eBay account.

If you tick all of those boxes, you're ready to delete your eBay account. Here are the steps to follow:

  1. Go to the eBay homepage and log in to your account.

  2. Go to My eBay, then select the Account tab.

  3. Select the Close my account link from the right-hand side.

  4. You are taken to a help page that does its best to dissuade you from following through with your deletion. If you're dead set on deleting your account though, continue the instructions below.

    If something has been bothering you about eBay or your account, it might be worth looking through the arbitration options.

  5. Under the Closing your eBay account heading, read through the steps to make sure you meet the requirements. When ready, select the blue submit a request to close your account text.

  6. You are then be asked to explain why it is you want to close your account. Use the drop-down menu to select your reason and, if prompted, select a more detailed reason.

    eBay Tell us why you're leaving screen
  7. Select Continue.

  8. EBay may offer help to try and alleviate the issue without closing your account. If you're determined, stick to your guns and select No, please close my account from the drop-down menu and then select Continue again.

  9. Read through the information about closing your account on the final page. When ready, tick the box to confirm you've read everything and select Continue one last time to confirm the deletion.

Your account closure request is sent through to eBay. You receive an email confirmation within 24 hours to confirm its receipt. If you haven't used the account in the last 60 days for any buying or selling, the account closure takes place within 30 days. If you’ve used the account more recently, it remains open for 60 days.

You can change your mind at any point during the grace period, but once the time is up, the account is be deleted. If you want to start using eBay again, you need to make a new account.

What Happens When I Delete My eBay Account?

Deleting your eBay account does not happen immediately when you begin the process, but it’s a permanent step if you follow through with it. You are no longer able to buy or sell on the site, you lose all your feedback, and you lose your purchase and sales history — useful information if you forget when or where you bought something, or from whom.

Deactivate your eBay seller account rather than delete it by removing your automatic payment options and canceling any active eBay subscriptions you have.

Was this page helpful?