How to Delete a YouTube Account

Follow these steps to permanently leave your YouTube account behind

What to Know

  • YouTube accounts can be permanently removed using a web browser or the mobile app.
  • Deleting a YouTube account removes your videos but doesn't necessarily remove comments you've left on the web using that account.
  • Deleting your entire Google account is the only way to completely remove all traces of your YouTube activities.

In this article, you'll learn how to permanently delete a YouTube account from both the web and the app, plus how to delete an associated Google account.

How to Permanently Delete Your YouTube Account Using a Browser

It's easy to delete your YouTube account and make all that content go away, while still retaining your Google account. To permanently delete your YouTube account (including all your videos and other data) from YouTube.com on the web:

  1. Sign in to your YouTube account at YouTube.com in a browser and select your user account icon in the top right corner of the screen.

  2. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.

    YouTube website
  3. Select View or change your Google account settings in the Google account section.

    Channel settings screen on YouTube
  4. Select Manage your data & personalization in the Privacy & personalization section.

    Privacy settings on YouTube
  5. Scroll down to the Download, delete or make a plan for your data section and select Delete a service or your account.

    Download screen on YouTube
  6. Select Delete a service in the Delete a Google service section.

    Delete a Google service on YouTube
  7. Optionally, select Download Data if you want to save your YouTube data before you permanently delete your account. You can check or uncheck the list of Google services you currently have for downloading data. You are also able to select the file type and delivery method.

    Delete confirmation screen on YouTube
  8. Select the trash can icon that appears beside YouTube. You may be asked to sign in to your account for verification again.

  9. Select I want to permanently delete my content to delete your YouTube account and all of its content.

  10. To go ahead with deletion, check the box to confirm to Google that you understand what is being deleted and then select Delete My Content.

    If you aren't sure you are ready to delete, select I want to hide my channel instead so that your YouTube activity and content are set to private.

    Hiding a channel screen on YouTube

    Once you click Delete My Content, the action cannot be undone.

How to Delete Your YouTube Account in the App

You can also delete your YouTube content and data using the YouTube app.

  1. Open the YouTube app and tap your user account icon at the top right of the screen.

  2. Tap Manage your Google Account.

  3. Tap Account preferences.

    Main screen, settings and account settings in the YouTube app
  4. Tap Delete Google services. You are prompted to sign in to your account to verify that it's you.

  5. Select the trash can icon that appears beside YouTube. Again, you may be asked to sign in to your account for verification.

    Account preferences and deleting google service screen in Google app
  6. Tap I want to permanently delete my content if you're sure you want to delete your YouTube account and all of its content. If not, select I want to hide my channel so that your YouTube activity and content are set to private.

  7. If you want to go ahead with deletion, check the box to confirm to Google that you understand what is being deleted and then tap Delete My Content.

    Permanently delete Google content app screen

    This action cannot be undone.

How to Delete Your Associated Google Account to Remove All Traces of YouTube Activities

Even if you delete your YouTube content and data, as long as you keep your Google account, you still technically have a YouTube account, but with no YouTube content or trail of previous YouTube activity. Comments you've posted, however, or other related activities can still remain on the internet as long as your associated Google account is live.

Deleting all YouTube content is usually sufficient, but if you really want to take things a step further and delete your entire Google account, including all data from other Google products you use, follow these steps.

Deleting your Google account is not recommended if you still want to use Gmail, Google Drive, Google Docs, or any of the other Google products.

  1. Sign in to your YouTube account and select your user account icon.

  2. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.

  3. Select View or change your Google account settings in the Google account section.

  4. Select Manage your data & personalization in the Privacy & personalization section.

  5. Scroll down to the Download, delete or make a plan for your data section and select Delete a service or your account.

  6. Select Delete your Google account. Sign in to your account for verification.

  7. Read through the information on the screen so that you understand what will be deleted. Check the check boxes to confirm and select Delete Account.

    Delete account screen on Google website

    This not only deletes your Google account but all the data you use on other Google products too. This action cannot be undone.