Social Media Facebook How to Delete a Post on Facebook Learn how to hide posts on Facebook too by Elise Moreau Freelance Contributor Elise Moreau is a writer that has covered social media, texting, messaging, and streaming for Lifewire. Her work has appeared on Techvibes, SlashGear, Lifehack and others. our editorial process Facebook Twitter Elise Moreau Updated on May 08, 2019 Pexels Facebook Facebook Flipboard Pinterest Twitter Snapchat Instagram YouTube Online Dating Tweet Share Email Anything you post on Facebook will remain on your profile unless you delete it. Luckily, it's a snap to delete a Facebook post — whether you posted it a second ago or five years ago. This article pertains to posts that you posted on Facebook—not posts made by your friends. You can't delete posts made by your friends or Pages you follow, but you can hide them from your News Feed. You can delete your Facebook posts from Facebook.com and the official apps for iOS and Android. The following instructions apply to the web version and the apps, but screenshots are from the web version. Why Delete a Facebook Post? There are all sorts of different reasons to delete one or multiple of your own Facebook posts. As long as you posted it and you are accessing the account from which you posted, you can control its visibility. You might want to delete a post because: Your feelings changed, or you changed your mind about wanting to share the information you shared.You want to clean up your profile timeline of unnecessary clutter.The post is now irrelevant or outdated.The post didn't receive very much interest or engagement from friends.You accidentally posted something (a status update, a photo, a video, a link, etc.) that you don't want some or all of your friends to see.You're receiving unexpected or unpleasant comments in the comment section of the post and want to put a stop to it.You edited a portion of your profile (your job position, location) or added a new life event and didn't want to create a post about it automatically.A third-party app auto-posted something for you and you don't want it appearing on your profile timeline or in your friends' News Feeds.You mistakenly shared something (like a link to a news story) that turned out to be false or that came from an illegitimate source. You don't have to delete a post on Facebook just because you made a typo or a mistake in it. Instead of removing and reposting it, you can always edit the portion of the post that needs correcting or clarification. How to Delete Your Facebook Posts Open Facebook on the web or the mobile app, sign in or switch to your account if necessary, and locate the Facebook post you want to delete. You might be able to find it in your News Feed if you recently posted. If not, then navigate to your profile by tapping your profile picture + name at the top (web) or the menu icon in the menu (app) followed by your profile picture + name. Select the three dots that appear in the top corner of the post. Select Delete from the dropdown list of options. If all you want to do is prevent people from seeing the post on your profile, you can select Hide from timeline instead of permanently deleting it. When you do this, it disappears from your profile. However, it might still show up in other places on Facebook — such as in the News Feed or search results. If you ever want to unhide it, you can navigate to your Activity Log on your profile to restore it. Facebook will ask you to confirm your deletion. Select Delete if you want to go ahead. The post will no longer be on your timeline. You can't undo this once you've deleted it. What You Need to Know About Deleting Facebook Posts Even if you delete something a second or two after posting it, there's no guarantee that no one saw it. Likewise, just because you deleted a post from Facebook doesn't mean that it's gone for good. Facebook says that when you delete something, it removes it from the site, but some information might remain on Facebook's servers. Depending on what you posted, permanent deletion of all the information associated with that particular post might require you to delete your account. In other words, just because you can no longer see the post on Facebook doesn't mean it's completely gone for good. How to Hide Your Facebook Posts from Certain People In some cases, you might post something to Facebook only to realize that you only want some of your friends to be able to see it. Instead of deleting it altogether, you can set a custom filter for who can see it using the visibility options that Facebook offers. Find the Facebook post you want to hide from certain people, either by locating it in your News Feed or on your profile timeline. On the web, select the down arrow that appears beside the date. On the app, tap the three dots that appear in the top corner of the post, then tap Edit Privacy. Select who you want to see the post. (Public. Friends, Friends except..., Specific friends, Only me, Custom, etc.) You might have to select More or See All to see additional visibility options. If you select something like Friends except... or Specific friends, Facebook will ask you to specify who you do or don't want to include. You might have to select Save Changes when you're done to complete the setup of your visibility option. You can change the visibility of any existing Facebook posts you have or before you put up a new one. Create a custom Facebook friend list to quickly and easily share posts with a specific group of friends. Once created, this list will appear in your visibility options when you click More or See All. Creating a custom list takes the work out of having to specify every time you post who you do or don't want to be able to see it.