How to Delete a Fitbit Account

Easily erase your tracker's data

Perhaps you no longer own a Fitbit or you want to wipe the slate clean and create a brand new account. Whatever the reason, here's now to permanently delete your Fitbit account through the Fitbit app, or via the Fitbit website.

What Happens When You Delete Your Fitbit Account

Once you delete your Fitbit account, your data will be deleted within 30 days from when you confirm the deletion request via email. Deleting your account will also delete any subscriptions you may have, such as Coach Premium.

According to Fitbit, it can take up to 90 days to delete all of your personal info due to the size and complexity of their backup systems. They also state they may preserve some data for legal or safety reasons. Please see Fitbit's Privacy Policy for more information.

If you change your mind about deleting your account, you have a 7-day grace period to recover your account. Just log into your account within seven days of confirming the deletion to restore your account and data.

How to Delete Fitbit Account on iPhone or Android

These instructions apply to both iPhone and Android, which have the same app menu options for deleting your account.


  1. Tap the Fitbit icon from your home screen to log into your account. If you're not already logged in, you'll need to enter your login credentials.

  2. Tap the user account icon at the top left corner of the app to access your account settings.

  3. Scroll down and tap Manage Data

    User account icon, Manage Data button in Fitbit app
  4. From the Manage Data screen, tap Delete Account.

  5. On the next screen, tap Delete My Account & Data. This will send a confirmation email you need to verify to complete the deletion process.

    Delete Account, Delete My Account & Data buttons in Fitbit app
  6. Check your email and confirm the deletion from Fitbit.

You have up to seven days to recover the account if you change your mind.

How to Delete Fitbit Account from the Fitbit Website

Although most people use the Fitbit app through their mobile device, you can also access, and delete, your Fitbit account from the Fitbit website.

  1. Head over the to the fitbit.com website and log in.

    Fitbit website login page
  2. From your personal dashboard, select the gear icon in the top right corner, then select Settings.

    Settings on Fitbit website
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page, then select Delete Account.

    Delete Account button on Fitbit website
  4. You'll be asked to confirm the deletion by entering your account password.

    Fitbit account deletion confirmation
  5. Check your email and confirm the deletion from Fitbit to complete the process.

You have up to seven days to recover the account if you change your mind.

How to Erase Fitbit Data Without Deleting Your Account

If you're looking to erase the data associated with your tracker—for example, if you're selling it or giving it away—keep in mind you don't need to delete your entire account to do so.

Depending on the model of Fitbit you have, you can either remove the device from your Fitbit account or do a factory reset. These options allow you to clear the data associated your tracker without having to delete your account. This can save you the time and energy of setting up a new account to pair with a different device in the future.

Factory resetting is available on the Ace 2, Inspire Series, Aria 2, Charge 3, Ionic and Versa Series, and Flyer.