How to Delete a Facebook Story

Remove photos and videos from your Facebook Story or Story Archive

The concept of stories first started on Instagram, and stories on Facebook are a great way to share short clips of your fun adventures with friends. Create a story on Facebook by sharing still images or short videos, and the content is available to your selected audience for 24 hours. Here's how to delete a current or archived Facebook Story, in the iOS and Android Facebook mobile app, and in the desktop version of Facebook.

These instructions apply to the Facebook mobile app and Facebook on the desktop.

How to Delete a Facebook Story Element

Whether your Facebook Story has one or multiple images or videos, it's easy to delete content.

Facebook Stories are available for only 24 hours, but after that, a story can be saved in your Story Archive. Only you can see your Story Archive.



  1. Select your Facebook Story at the top of your newsfeed.

  2. Select the three dot icon in the upper-right corner of the story.

  3. Select Delete Photo or Delete Video, then select Delete to confirm.

    Three dot menu, Delete Photo, Delete confirmation button on Facebook Stories
  4. Repeat this process to delete more photos or videos from your story, if necessary. After you complete this action, the deleted content is permanently removed.

If you see someone else's story that you don't want to see, mute their story so that it doesn't show up in your Stories section.

Enable Your Facebook Story Archive

Though your Facebook stories disappear from public view after 24 hours, maintain access to your content by enabling your Story Archive.

When this option is enabled, all your stories are automatically archived after 24 hours. When this option is disabled, your stories are lost to you and your viewers. Here's how to navigate your Facebook Story Archive settings.

These instructions apply to the Facebook mobile app except where indicated.

  1. From your Newsfeed, tap your profile picture in the upper-left corner. On the desktop, from your Newsfeed, select your name in the upper-left corner to go to your profile.

  2. Select the three dot icon, then select Story Archive. On the Facebook desktop version, select Archive from the line under your profile picture.

  3. Select the three dot icon in the upper-right corner, then select Settings. On the Facebook desktop version, select the gear icon in the upper-right corner.

  4. Toggle the Save to Archive option to on. On the Facebook desktop version, select Turn On Story Archive.

Conversely, if you don't want Facebook stories archived, turn off the Story Archive option to permanently delete stories after 24 hours.

How to Delete an Already Archived Facebook Story

You can access your archived Facebook stories through your Facebook profile and delete an archived story if you wish.

These instructions apply to the Facebook mobile app except where indicated.

  1. Go to your Facebook Profile Page.

  2. Select the three dot icon, then select Story Archive. On the Facebook desktop version, select Archive from the line under your profile picture.

  3. Select the Facebook story you wish to delete.

  4. Select the three dot icon at the upper-right corner of the story.

  5. Select Delete Video.

    Story Archive, Three-dot menu, delete video button in Facebook Stories
  6. Your archived Facebook Story is now deleted.

Control Who Can View Your Facebook Stories

Users can determine if their stories can be viewed by everyone, friends and other contacts, or only friends. Set custom settings to choose only the people you want to grant access to your stories. You can also choose people from whom to hide a story.

These instructions apply to the Facebook mobile app except where indicated.

  1. Add a photo or video to your Facebook Story.

  2. Tap Privacy in the lower-left corner. On Facebook for the desktop, select the Friends box next to Your Story to access who can see your story.

  3. Choose from the options for who can see your story.

    Public allows anyone on Facebook or Messenger to view your story. Friends lets all Facebook friends have access. Select Custom to share your story only with specific people. Select Hide Story From to exclude people from your story.

  4. Select Save.

  5. Your Facebook Story viewing options are now set. Only the people you want to see your Facebook Story can see it.