How to Delete a Facebook Page

Simple ways to remove your page from any device

An image of someone looking at the Facebook home page on a tablet.
You can even delete a Facebook page from an iPad.

Photo © hocus-focus / Getty Images

Have you ever created a Facebook page, only to find yourself not needing it anymore and wondering how to delete it? You're not alone.

A Facebook page is different from a profile, though. Your user profile represents you as an individual where you can interact with friends and maintain control over the privacy of the information you share. A page is a public representation of a person, place, organization, group, or something else anyone on Facebook can like to follow its posts.

Follow these steps to learn how to remove a Facebook page and wait for it to be permanently deleted.

Make Sure You're an Admin of the Page You Want to Delete

Only users assigned the role of admin can delete Facebook pages. If you're the one who created the page, you're already the admin by default. However, if you were not the one who created the page, you must have received permission from another admin of the page to become an admin yourself.

A screenshot of Facebook.com.
Checking page roles on Facebook.com.

To find out if you're an admin of a Facebook page on a computer:

  1. Go to Facebook.com.
  2. Select Pages in the left menu, then select the page from the list.
  3. Select Settings at the top, then select Page Roles in the left menu.

If you're using the Facebook mobile app for iOS or Android:

  1. Open the app and tap the menu icon at the bottom to the far right.
  2. Tap Pages.
  3. Select your page, then tap Edit Page > Settings > Page Roles.
  4. Scroll down to see the existing page roles. If you're an admin, you should see your profile picture and name listed along with an Admin label.

As an admin of the page, you can continue with the deletion process by following the next steps.

Access the Facebook Page Settings

If you followed the first step to find out if you're an admin, you may already be in your Page's settings and can probably skip this step. But if you're not already there, select Settings at the top of your page on Facebook.com or tap Edit Page > Settings on the mobile app.

How to Remove Facebook Page and Wait for Permanent Deletion

Deleting a Facebook page removes it from Facebook for a period of 14 days, after which you'll be asked to confirm its permanent deletion. Facebook maintains this 14-day page removal period in case you to change your mind and want to restore it.

Warning: After you confirm its deletion, the Facebook page can never be restored.

A screenshot of Facebook.com.
Deleting a page on Facebook.com.

Before you delete your page, first consider a few alternative options:

  1. Unpublish the page instead: Unpublishing your page makes it inaccessible to the public, including the people who've liked the page. The only people who will be able to still see your page are those with page roles.
  2. Merge the page with an existing similar page: If you're an admin of another page with a similar name and representation, Facebook will allow you to merge it with the one you don't want to maintain anymore.
  3. Download a copy of your page data before you delete it: Obtain your page data so you have a copy of all your posts, photos, videos, and page info.

Each of the above can be done from within the page settings tab. Look for the Page Visibility section to unpublish the page, the Merge Posts section to combine it with a similar page and the Download Page section to download a copy of the page.

Note: You can only download your page from a web browser.

To go ahead with the deletion process on Facebook.com:

  1. Scroll down on the page settings tab to the very bottom until you see Remove Page.
  2. Select Edit beside it, then select Delete page name.
  3. Select Delete Page on the popup box to send it to deletion mode.

To go ahead with the deletion process on the mobile app:

  1. Tap General from the page settings tab and scroll down to the Remove Page section.
  2. Tap Permanently delete page name, then tap the blue Delete Page button on the following tab to send it to deletion mode.

If you change your mind about deleting the page, you can visit the page and select Cancel Deletion on Facebook.com, or tap Scheduled for deletion in X days on the app within the 14-day period to restore it.