How to Delete a Blogger Blogspot Blog

Download your old blog's content and then get rid of it

Blogger
Blogger

Blogger was launched in 1999 and bought by Google in 2003. That's a lot of years during which you may have been publishing blogs. Because Blogger allows you to create as many blogs as you'd like, you may have a blog or two that was abandoned long ago and is sitting there collecting spam comments.

Here's how to clean up your relics by deleting an old blog on Blogger.

Back Up Your Blog

You may not want to completely erase your old blog; you just don't need it out there littering the digital world. Besides, you can save it for nostalgia or posterity.

You can save a backup of your blog's posts and comments on your computer before you eradicate it by following these steps.

  1. Log into your Google account and go to your Blogger.com admin page.

  2. Click the down arrow located in the top left. This will open a menu of all of your blogs.

  3. Select the name of the blog you want to backup.

  4. In the left menu, click Settings > Other.

  5. In the Import & back up section, click the Back up Content button.

  6. In the dialog box that opens, click Save to your computer.

Your posts and comments will be downloaded to your computer as an XML file. 

Delete a Blogger Blog

Now that you've backed up your old blog—or decided to consign it to the dustbin of history—you can delete it. 

  1. Log into Blogger using your Google account (you may already be there after completing the steps above).

  2. Click the down arrow located in the top left and select the blog you want to delete from the list.

  3. In the left menu, click Settings > Other.

  4. In the Delete Blog section, next to Remove your blog, click the Delete blog button. 

  5. You will be asked if you would like to export the blog before you delete it; if you haven't done this yet but want to now, click Download Blog. Otherwise, click the Delete This Blog button.

After you delete a blog, it will no longer be accessible by visitors. However, you have 90 days during which you can restore your blog. After 90 days it is permanently deleted—in other words, it is gone forever.

If you're sure you want the blog completely deleted immediately, you don't have to wait 90 days for it to be permanently deleted. 

To immediately and permanently get rid of a deleted blog before the 90 days are up, follow the additional steps below after performing the steps above. Note, however, that once a blog is permanently deleted, the URL for the blog cannot be used again.

  1. Click the down arrow at the top left.

  2. In the dropdown menu, in the Deleted blogs section, click your recently deleted blog that you want to permanently delete.

  3. Click the PERMANENTLY DELETE button.

Restore a Deleted Blog

If you change your mind about a deleted blog (and you haven't waited longer than 90 days or taken the steps to permanently delete it), you can restore your deleted blog by following these steps:

  1. Click the down arrow at the top left of the Blogger page.

  2. In the dropdown menu, in the Deleted blogs section, click the name of your recently deleted blog.

  3. Click the UNDELETE button.

Your formerly deleted blog will be restored and available again.