How to Add Friends on PS4

Plus, how to manage your friends list

image of young child playing Apex Legends on PS4

Chesnot/Getty Images

Sure, you can play your PS4 solo without any interaction with other gamers, but where’s the fun in that? Once another player has been added to your Friends list you have the ability to see if they’re signed in to PlayStation Network, check out what game they’re playing, view their broadcasts, send them direct messages, and more. Once you learn how to add friends on PS4, you'll be surprised at how easy it is.

How to Add Friends on PlayStation 4 

There are multiple things to consider when sending a friend request on PS4, such as the fact that your new friend will have access to your profile and any other information you've chosen to share, like your online status, gameplay details, and more.

If you're ready, follow the steps below.

  1. Select Friends, located along the PS4 UI bar and represented by two smiling faces.

    screenshot of PS4 main screen
  2. The Friends interface should now be visible. To send friend requests, select Search from the left menu pane.

    screenshot of PS4 Search Friends interface
  3. Enter the person’s PlayStation ID or their name using the on-screen keyboard and your controller.

    screenshot of PS4 Friends Search
  4. Select Done or press the R2 button on your controller once complete.

  5. A list of players matching your search query should be displayed, as shown in the accompanying screenshot. Locate the player you wish to request as a friend and select the smiley face and plus (+) icon to the right of their name. 

    screenshot of PS4 Friend Search results
  6. The Send Friend Request form will now appear. From here, you can choose to enter a message to accompany your friend request. This is completely optional.

    screenshot of PS4 Send Friend Request form
  7. You can also choose to designate this as a “close” request, meaning you and your new friend will be able to see each other’s full name and profile picture. To enable this, place a check mark in the box accompanying the Send Close Friend Request option. 

    You should only send a close friend request to players you either know in real life or feel comfortable with. You can always adjust these settings at a later point after you get to know someone better.

  8. Select Send to complete the process. A request will now be sent to this player and they can choose to either accept or deny it. If accepted, they're instantly added to your Friends list and vice versa.

  9. To respond to pending requests that have been sent to you, select Friend Requests from the left menu pane and select Accept next to each person you wish to add.

    screenshot of PS4 Friend Requests screen

How to Delete Friends on PS4

Not all friendships last forever, including those on the PlayStation Network. If you’d like to remove someone from your PS4 Friends list, take these steps.

  1. Select Friends, located along the PS4 UI bar and represented by two smiling faces.

    screenshot of PS4 main UI
  2. The Friends interface should now be visible. Select All Friends from the left menu pane.

    screenshot of PS4 All Friends interface
  3. On the right hand side, highlight and select the name of the friend that you wish to remove.

  4. The respective friend’s profile should now be displayed. Select the Menu icon, represented by three vertically-aligned dots and located on the left-hand side of the screen.

    screenshot of PS4 friend profile
  5. Select Remove from Friends from the drop-down menu.

    screenshot of PS4 friend profile menu
  6. A confirmation message will now appear. Select OK to complete the process.

    screenshot of PS4 Remove from Friends screen

How to Block Friends on PS4

Sometimes, removing a fellow gamer from your Friends list isn’t enough, as there can still be some level of visibility and even interaction in certain scenarios. Blocking a user on PSN is much more restrictive, ensuring yourself and the blocked user can no longer send messages or friend requests, as well as see online status.

Blocked users are also prevented from sending game sessions and invitations and can no longer leave comments on any of your PSN content, and vice versa.

Follow the instructions below to block another user.

  1. Select Friends, located along the PS4 UI bar and represented by two smiling faces.

    screenshot of PS4 main UI screen
  2. The Friends interface should now be visible. Select All Friends from the left menu pane.

    screenshot of PS4 All Friends screen
  3. On the right hand side, highlight and select the name of the friend that you wish to block.

  4. The respective friend’s profile should now be displayed. Select the Menu icon, represented by three vertically-aligned dots and located on the left-hand side of the screen.

    screenshot of PS4 friend profile screen
  5. Select Block from the drop-down menu. 

    screenshot of PS4 friend profile menu
  6. A confirmation screen will now appear. Select Block to complete the process.

    screenshot of PS4 Block screen