Internet, Networking, & Security Web Development 45 45 people found this article helpful How to Make Money as a Web Hosting Reseller Sell web hosting and earn extra income By Om Thoke Writer Om Thoke is a former Lifewire writer, web content manager, hosting advisor who has written for publications such as BrightHub, eHow, and CNET. our editorial process Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Om Thoke Updated March 07, 2020 Inmagineasia / Getty Images Web Development CSS & HTML Web Design SQL Tweet Share Email Web Hosting is an essential part of how the internet works, but most people don't pay much attention to it. After all, it's fairly simple to purchase hosting, spin up a WordPress site, and get yourself online. It's even simpler if you use a drag-and-drop option like Wix. However, for those paying attention, there's an opportunity to make extra income off of web hosting, and you don't even need servers of your own to do it. Reseller hosting plans allow you to make an agreement with a web hosting company and sell space on their servers for them. You start by purchasing a reseller account from your favorite provider. From there, you can get started selling hosting through your account and making real money doing it. It's simple, and there's potential to earn some serious cash. What Does Your Success Depend Upon? First off, the amount of money that you make totally depends upon your marketing tactics, and the effectiveness of your PPC campaigns (if you decide to invest any money on Pay-Per-Click marketing), conversion rates, and then the margin at which, you decide to operate. Can You Make Six-Figure Income? Who wouldn't want to make a comfortable living from home selling something they didn't even have to buy in the first place? Then, you get to sit back and collect more every month. Sounds too good to be true, right? Well, for most people it is. That's because building a successful reseller hosting business takes real work since it is a real business. That's why it's best to start with smaller, more attainable goals, like making your first $1000. Setting a Meager $1,000 Target Initially So, if your target is to generate a monthly profit of $1,000, it's essential that you generate sales of at least $5,000, assuming a healthy 20% profit margin. Note that it’s totally up to you to decide the profit margin, but we’d highly recommend 15-20% profit margins because anything over 20% margin will make your hosting packages way too costly, and this may turn off many of your potential customers. On the other hand, if you decide to work with a 5% profit margin, then you’ll have to resell hosting packages worth $20,000 to generate monthly profits of $1,000, and we simply don't think it'd be worth your time and efforts. Working as a Reseller vs. Hosting Affiliate Even as an affiliate marketer, you can generate up to $60 per referral very easily, and you just need to generate only 20 good leads to earning $1,000 per month working as a hosting affiliate for top web hosts like JustHost, HostGator, and GoDaddy. In this case, you’d potentially be generating business worth at least $10,000-$20,000 for those hosts in the longer run, and earning only $1,000 from it. However, the big hosting agencies don’t mind paying high to their affiliates on a per-referral basis because they know it from their past experiences that most of their customers will end up spending anywhere from $200-$5,000 per year towards hosting and domain registration/renewal charges and the average profit margin would easily be much more than $60 referral bonus paid by them. So, if you want quick money, then working as a hosting affiliate makes more sense than reselling hosting packages. But, in the case of affiliate marketing, it’s tough to predict the conversion rates, and your earnings may vary drastically from month to month. In case of reselling the hosting packages, if you manage to attract 20 customers every month (just 1/day), and assuming average order size to be just $100, you’d end up generating only $2,000 first month, out of which, just $200-400 will be your actual earnings (with 10-20% profit margin). But, don't get disheartened so soon because this is just the beginning; the magic of compounding makes all the difference here. If you manage to do the same next month as well, the profit margin in the second month would be $200-400 from the second month’s customers plus at least $100-200 from recurring billing. Likewise, your profit margin in the third month would be $200-400 from that third month's sales plus $100-200 from recurring billing of previous month's sales, plus $100-200 from recurring billing of first month's sales. Earnings at the End of 6th Month Making money as a hosting reseller becomes easier and easier as time passes by. At the end of sixth month, taking average figures, your profit margins would be $300 + $150 + $150 + $150 + $150 + $150 = $1,050. Now, even if you stop generating new orders, you'd be making a stable $1000 monthly profit merely by sustaining the existing customers. Plus, you literally don’t have to do anything because once your customers are subscribed to monthly hosting packages, there’s nothing that you really need to do. Since you're reselling hosting packages, you won't have to worry about customer service, so long as you're reselling the hosting packages of a reputed web host. At this point, all that you need to do in order to sustain your $1000 monthly level is to add a few more customers as and when any of your old customers go off. However, you must be wary of issues with reselling hosting packages of unreliable firms. So, it's important that you buy web hosting packages only from a reputed firm as a reseller. Making Your Six-Figure Dream Come True If we continue the math, at the end of 24 months, you could be easily looking at a healthy income level of $4,000+/month, and even if you’re unable to generate consistent orders, you’d surely be earning in the range of $2500-3000/month by then. That's assuming only a meager order size of $100/order, but if you’re reselling VPS and managed to host packages, the average order size can easily go up to $200+. Applying the same math, you’d easily be generating $8000+/month by end of the second year, assuming that you manage to generate 20 new orders every month and retain the majority of your old customers with an average order size of $200. And, guess what $8,500/month, means you’d have already started making a hefty six-figure income level at that point. However, in the case of affiliate marketing, if you fail to generate any orders, you end up earning ZERO DOLLARS for that particular month, and that's quite risky, especially if you’re planning to pay your credit card, and utility bills with that money. The Starting Problem A word of caution here is that things can be quite rusty and frustrating during the first six months. But, that pretty much applies to any business, and you get to reap the real benefits only after a year or two (and, this was pretty much the case when we had started an SEO company). So, you can certainly make a living working as a hosting reseller if you chalk out the plan correctly, and work your way through it smartly, and patiently. Biggest Challenges in the Process The biggest challenge in the process is generating orders on a consistent basis. You can make use of PPC marketing, organic search engine optimization, social media marketing, and several other ways, but remember — it's always easier said than done! Hearty wishes from our side to all those who plan to take up this challenge and make some serious money as a hosting reseller. Just remember, you can make things happen, but it’d require a good deal of time, effort, persistence, and patience! We'd also like to add that you can also generate similar income levels working as an SEO reseller too; the only difference would be that you'd be reselling SEO packages of a reliable SEO firm.