Forward Hotmail Email to a Different Account

Consolidate your email accounts

Outlook email on tablet and phone
pictafolio / Getty Images

Windows Live Hotmail is a part of Outlook.com, so forwarding all your Hotmail email to a different email address can be done through Outlook Mail.

Email forwarding works by automatically sending messages from one account to another. Every new email that comes ‚Äčinto your Hotmail account (or whichever Microsoft email account you're using through Outlook.com) will be sent to that address. You might want to do this if you have an old Hotmail account or a secondary, but not-used-as-much, Outlook.com email account associated with various websites, but you don't want to have to log on to those email accounts just to check for messages.

When you forward these emails to your Gmail, Yahoo, other Outlook.com email account, etc., you still get the messages but you don't have to worry about checking the accounts all the time.

Keep in mind that you should still occasionally log on to your Microsoft email account to avoid having it marked as inactive and eventually deleted.

Forward Windows Live Hotmail Email to a Different Email Account

Follow these steps to forward your Windows Live Hotmail to a different email account:

You can skip the first several steps that follow by clicking this link to go directly to Outlook's forwarding options.

  1. Log on to your email through Outlook Mail.

  2. Select the Settings menu icon near the right side of the menu bar (it looks like a gear).

  3. Choose View all Outlook settings from the drop down menu.

    Screenshot depicting Outlook Live settings
  4. Go to Mail > Forwarding. Because you're accessing sensitive information, Microsoft might ask you to log into your account again.

    Screenshot of Outlook's settings
  5. Make sure the Enable forwarding check box is marked.

  6. Enter the email address you want to forward messages to in the Forward my email to: field.

    Screenshot depicting Outlook's email forwarding settings
  7. Press Save at the top of that page to confirm the changes.