How to Unblock Someone on Facebook

If it's time to reconnect, here's what to do

If you've blocked someone on Facebook but feel like it's time to reconnect, the social network makes it easy to bring them back into your world. Here's how to unblock someone on Facebook's desktop version and in its mobile app.

Blocking someone on Facebook is more serious than unfriending, snoozing, or unfollowing them. When you block someone, it's as if you're invisible to each other on Facebook.

Two male friends laughing while looking at Facebook on an iPhone at a cafe
AleksandarGeorgiev / Getty Images

How to Unblock Someone on Facebook on the Desktop

If you're using Facebook via a web browser on your desktop, here's what you'll need to do to unblock someone:

  1. Navigate to Facebook.com and select the account icon (upside-down triangle) from the top right.

    Navigate to Facebook.com and select the account icon (upside-down triangle) from the top right.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy.

    Select Settings & Privacy.
  3. Select Settings.

    Select Settings.
  4. From the menu on the left, select Blocking.

    From the menu on the left, select Blocking.
  5. In the Block Users section, you'll see the names of any users you've previously blocked. Find the person you want to unblock and select Unblock.

    Find the person you want to unblock and select Unblock.
  6. Facebook will explain what will happen when you unblock this person. Select Confirm to unblock them.

    Select Confirm to unblock them.

    If you were previously Facebook friends, unblocking someone doesn't automatically make you friends again. You'll need to send a new friend request, and the request must be accepted, to become Facebook friends again.

Unblock Someone on the Facebook App

If you're using Facebook's iOS or Android mobile app, here's what you need to do to unblock someone:

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap Menu (three lines) from the bottom right.

    On an Android device, tap Menu (three lines) on the top right of the screen.

  2. Tap Settings & Privacy.

  3. Tap Settings.

    Tap Menu, Settings & Privacy, Settings
  4. Scroll down to the Privacy section and tap Blocking.

  5. In the Blocked People section, you'll see the names of any users you've previously blocked. Find the person you want to unblock and select Unblock.

  6. Select Unblock to confirm.

    Unblock a person on Facebook mobile app

    If you were previously Facebook friends, unblocking someone doesn't automatically make you friends again. You'll need to send a new friend request, and the request must be accepted, to become Facebook friends again.

More on Blocking and Unblocking

When you block a Facebook user, they can't communicate with you or see anything you post, and you won't see any of their posts or comments. The blocked user can't invite you to events, send a friend request, see your profile, or send you an instant message through Messenger. It will be as if you're invisible to each other on Facebook. A person doesn't have to be a Facebook friend to be blocked.

Unblocking someone on Facebook makes you both visible to each other again on Facebook, but if you were previously Facebook friends, you won't automatically have your friend status restored until one of you sends a friend request, and the other accepts.

If you've blocked someone on Facebook, they won't be notified. They may realize they're blocked if they try to search for your account because they won't be able to see your name in the search results. Or, they may notice that they're not seeing your posts.

Was this page helpful?