How to Block Someone on Facebook

You're in control of who interacts with you

Blocking someone on Facebook is a way to protect yourself from toxic individuals, harassment, or people with whom you don't want to communicate on the social media site. Here's an explanation of what it means to block someone, reasons for taking this action, and how to block someone on Facebook.

These instructions explain blocking someone using Facebook on the desktop and the Facebook mobile app for iOS and Android.

Facebook user holding cellphone looking serious as they block a user
Westend61 / Getty Images

Blocking vs. Snoozing, Unfollowing, or Unfriending

Blocking is different from unfriending, snoozing, or unfollowing someone. Before you decide to block someone, see if another action might be more appropriate.

Snoozing

When you snooze a Facebook friend, you won't see their posts for 30 days, which helps if you need a break.

Unfollowing

Unfollowing means you won't see someone's posts, which is useful if you'd like to maintain a connection but don't want to encounter what the individual shares. It's easy to follow the person again if you change your mind.

Unfriending

Unfriending takes unfollowing up a notch, removing the person's posts from your feed and preventing them from seeing your non-public posts. If you change your mind, send them a new friend request to restart your relationship.

Blocking

Blocking is more serious than the other options. When you block a Facebook user, they can't communicate with you or see anything you post, and you won't see any of their posts or comments. It will be as if you're invisible to each other on Facebook.

The blocked user can't invite you to events, see your profile, or send you an instant message through Messenger. If you decide to unblock the person, send them a new friend request.

Choose to block anyone you want on Facebook, whether they're a current Facebook friend or not.

Reasons for Blocking Someone on Facebook

There are several reasons people block others on Facebook. If there are stalking, harassment, or bullying concerns, blocking someone on Facebook gives the person less access to your life. If there's a falling-out between friends or family members, someone may choose to block a user to prevent potential future interactions.

Whatever your reasons for blocking someone, blocking is anonymous. Facebook doesn't notify someone of their blocked status.

How to Block Someone on Facebook on the Desktop

It's easy to block someone using Facebook on a Windows, Mac, or Linux desktop.

  1. Go to Facebook.com in a web browser.

  2. Select the Account icon (down arrow).

    The Account icon on Facebook
  3. Select Settings and Privacy.

    Settings & Privacy in Facebook
  4. Select Settings.

    Settings on Facebook
  5. From the left menu pane, select Blocking.

    The Blocking category in Facebook settings
  6. In the Block Users box, enter the name of the person or page you want to block, then select Block.

    The Block Users box and Block button
  7. In the Block People list, choose the specific person or page you want to block, and then select Block.

    The Block button on Facebook
  8. A confirmation box appears, explaining the ramifications of blocking someone. To proceed, select Block [name].

    The block confirmation button
  9. You blocked the user on Facebook, and their name appears on your Block users list.

    A user name in the block list on Facebook

    Alternatively, go to the profile page of the person you want to block and select the three dots on the upper-right menu bar. Select Block, then select Block again to confirm.

  10. If you change your mind, select Unblock > Confirm to unblock this user. You'll need to send another friend request to reinstate all contact.

    Select Unblock > Confirm to unblock this user.

    After you unblock someone, you must wait a few days before you can block them again.

Block Someone on Facebook via Mobile

It's also possible to block someone using the Facebook iOS or Android mobile app.

  1. Open and log in to the Facebook mobile app.

  2. Go to the profile page of the person you want to block.

  3. Tap More (three dots) under and to the right of the person's name.

  4. Tap Block.

  5. In the confirmation pop-up, tap Block again.

    Blocking a person in the Facebook app

    Alternatively, tap the Facebook icon in the bottom menu, and then tap Settings > Blocking. Tap Add to blocked list and then enter the name of the person you want to block. Tap Block and then tap Block again to confirm.

  6. You blocked the person on Facebook.

    To unblock the person, tap the Facebook icon in the bottom menu, and then tap Settings > Blocking. Tap Unblock next to the name of the blocked person.