Doom 2016 Game Review


Bethesda Softworks

Doom is a sci-fi horror first-person shooter game that was released on May 13, 2016, for Microsoft Windows PCs, and the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 console systems. It was developed by id Software in what is considered a reboot of the Doom series. Doom (2016) is the fourth overall game in the main series, not including any of the re-releases or mods and it is the first release in over ten years since the release of Doom 3 in 2004. Like the original classic Doom, players take on the role of a nameless marine, who over the years has simply become known as the Doom guy by fans of the series.

Much like the original, Doom (2016), Doom guy has been sent to colonized Mars to investigate and fight an invasion of Demons from Hell that have been released upon the unsuspecting colony in part due to the actions that were taken at a research facility on Mars that has channeled energy from hell. It is up to the players to uncover the plot behind the demonic invasion, find its source, and stop them before they turn their sights on Earth.

In addition to the single player story campaign, Doom also includes a competitive multiplayer component that includes a number of different game modes. It also features an mapping component that allows in-game map editing for those interested in creating their own maps within Doom.

Quick Hits

  • Released: May 13, 2016.
  • Genre: Action, First Person Shooter.
  • Theme: Sci-Fi.
  • Rating: M for Mature.
  • Game Modes: Single-player, multi-player.
  • How Long to Beat: 13 hours for the main single-player storyline; 13+ hrs to complete story and any side missions/Easter eggs.

Doom Single Player Features

Doom features a single player story campaign that puts an emphasis on speed and combat. Players will be able to perform nimble parkour like actions such as double jumps and the ability to climb up walls and ledges. At the same time, the gameplay somewhat discourages players from staying put for too long to regain health or take cover.

Instead, health pickups and armor are found throughout the levels in a similar fashion to the health/armor system in Wolfenstein: The New Order, another Bethesda Softworks published game. In addition to health pick-ups, players can also regain health with Glory Kills, a new execution system that allows players to violently kill enemies in melee.

Doom also features a wide array of weaponry with favorites like the BFG 9000 making a return. Enemies found in Doom also mirror those found in the original and include the revenant, mancubus, and others. The Doom single player campaign and it's fast-paced action is a noticeable change over the slower paced, survival horror theme found in Doom 3 and successfully captures the spirit of the Doom and Doom II.

Doom Multiplayer Game Modes & Maps

The Doom Multiplayer component offers up the same fast-paced action found in the single more paly game across six different competitive multiplayer game modes.

  • Clan Arena - Clan Arena is last man standing or in this case last team standing game mode where players are eliminated from the match as they are killed. There is no re-spawning as in other modes. The objective is to eliminate all members of the opposing team.
  • Domination - Domination is one of the more traditional game modes found in Doom. In it, teams will fight for control of three fixed capture points. The Doom twist with domination is the appearance of a demon rune that spawns randomly on the map. Teams will race to capture the rune so they can unleash the power of a demon on the opposing team that can put the game out of reach or allow another to catch up.
  • Freeze Tag - In Freeze Tag instead of being killed players are encased in a block of ice and can be rescued or thawed out by teammates. The winner is the first team that can freeze all members of the opposing team.
  • Soul Harvest - Soul Harvest is a multiplayer game mode similar to Team Deathmatch but rather than gaining points for killing members of the opposing team, players must harvest the souls of the enemies they kill. Souls will only remain available to collect for a short period of time and the twist is that any team can collect the soul. Collect a soul from the opposing team to earn points or prevent the other team from earning points by collecting souls of fallen teammates.
  • Team Deathmatch - Team Deathmatch is one of the classic Doom multiplayer modes has two teams face off against each other in a kill or be killed multiplayer match. Team Deathmatch also includes the demon rune which allows a player to turn into a powerful demon. The game ends when a predetermined number of points/kills have been earned by one team or time runs out.
  • Warpath - Warpath is a capture type mode where each team fights to hold control of a single capture point. This capture point, however, will move around the map throughout the game. The objective is to hold the capture point long enough to accumulate a set number of points.

Doom launched with a total of nine multiplayer maps that include a wide variety of environments and each map is unique. Each map is built for speed and range from the research facility on Mars, a map set beneath the polar ice caps of Mars and to the depths of Hell itself. The maps included with the launch of Doom are Excavation, Infernal, Chasm, Disposal, Helix, Perdition, Sacrilegious, Heatwave and Beneath.

Doom System Requirements

Minimum Requirements
Spec Requirement
CPU Intel Core i5-2400 or AMD FX-8320
Operating System Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10 (all 64-bit)
Memory 8 GB of RAM
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 or AMD Radeon HD 7870
Video Card Memory 2 GB of Video RAM
Free Disk Space 45 GB of Disk Space
Recommended Requirements
Spec Requirement
CPU Intel Core i7-3770 or AMD FX-8350 or better
Operating System Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10 (all 64-bit)
Memory 8 GB of RAM or more
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 or AMD Radeon R9 290 or better
Video Card Memory 4 GB of Video RAM
Free Disk Space 45 GB of Disk Space

Doom Expansions & DLCs

Prior to its release Bethesda Softworks outlined the plan regarding expansions and DLCs for Doom. Each DLC released will be priced at $14.99 or all gamers can have access to all DLCs by purchasing a season pass for $39.99. Bethesda has also provided specific content that is planned for the first DLC and it includes the following: Three new multiplayer maps, one new weapon, one new playable demon, one new set of armor, one new piece of equipment, new taunts and new customized colors/skins.

The first DLC for Doom was released on August 4, 2016, and titled "Unto The Evil" DLC. It brings the before mentioned three new multiplayer maps, one new playable demon, a new weapon and more.

The second DLC was released on October 2016 titled "Hell Followed" and brings the same new set of content as Unto The Evil, three new multiplayer maps, a newly playable demon, and new weapons.

In addition to the paid DLCs, Bethesda will also be updating the game regularly which includes updates to SnapMap which is the before mentioned map editor tool that allows gamers and programmers to create their own content for Doom. These SnapMap updates are said to include new mapping modules, new game modes and updates to the game's AI.