'Disney Infinity' 101: What You Need to Know

Learn the differences between the three 'Disney Infinity' games

The "Disney Infinity" franchise was retired by Disney after the developer, Avalanche Software, closed its doors in late 2016. However, Gold Editions of the three games were released on Steam for Windows computers. These editions contain the figures and contents of the three games.

What Is 'Disney Infinity'?

Disney Infinity Base with Baymax and Hiro
Disney Interactive

"Disney Infinity" is a video game from Disney Interactive. It is a toys-to-life game in which players take real-life toys and place them on a special base to bring them into the virtual world where they are playing. Each of the "Disney Infinity" base sets has two parts: a Play Set and the Toy Box. Play Sets are mission-driven games around a theme, while the Toy Box is an open-ended building area. One major inspiration for "Disney Infinity" was the earlier Disney Interactive release, the "Toy Story 3" video game. You can play "Disney Infinity" in single-player or multiplayer mode. 

All About 'Disney Infinity' Play Sets

Each "Disney Infinity" starter set includes at least one Play Set. The first release included three Play Sets for The Incredibles, Monsters University, and Pirates of the Caribbean. Play Sets typically have a story to follow with plenty of side missions and objectives as well as special single and multiplayer challenges that include driving through hoops, popping balls, and racing.

Plot and activity lines like these are present in all but the Inside Out Play Set, which is a side-action platformer. In all of the Play Sets, there is a clear beginning and end, although most players complete the main game with plenty of missions left over. Players can purchase additional "Disney Infinity" Play Sets, but each one only works with the Starter Set it was designed for:

  • Disney Infinity: Pirates of the Caribbean, Monsters University, The Incredibles, Cars, Toy Story in Space, The Lone Ranger
  • Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes: The Avengers (included), Guardians of the Galaxy, Spider-Man Comics
  • Disney Infinity 3.0: Star Wars: Twilight of the Republic (included), Inside Out, Rise Against the Empire, The Force Awakens, Marvel Battlegrounds

'Disney Infinity' Toy Box Mode

Toy Box mode is an open-ended sandbox environment where players can build their own worlds, scenes, and games using a range of tools and specialty items. They can also use any characters from the current or previous "Disney Infinity" set, allowing players to stage battles between Tinker Bell and Darth Vader, or races between the Lone Ranger (on a horse) and Lightning McQueen.

The wide range of content includes set pieces and extra characters from movies, rides, and attractions from Disney Parks, and tons of logic-based Creativi-Toys that connect everything into one experience. These gadgets can keep score, mark laps, shoot off fireworks, randomly spawn vehicles or villains, and otherwise allow for some creative and exciting interactive designs in the Toy Box.

"Disney Infinity 2.0" saw the addition of the INterior. Players can design their own house with themed rooms and more games. The INterior is populated with a wide range of Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Star Wars characters, depending on the version of the game you're playing.

Toy Box Discs and Games

Each version of "Disney Infinity" has a set of Toy Box discs with special features. They may give additional powers to certain characters, bring a vehicle or weapon into the world, or change the environment in some way. The first two versions of "Disney Infinity" had their Toy Box discs in blind packaging, making it difficult to collect complete sets. "Disney Infinity 3.0" has Toy Box discs in themed packs. 

With "Disney Infinity 2.0," Toy Box games were added. These minigames are designed using the same tools and content you have access to in the Toy Box. They extend gameplay but also serve as inspiration for players who want to create their own content. The Toy Box games are designed to work with their corresponding version of "Disney Infinity." 

Choosing Which Version of 'Disney Infinity' to Buy

Starting with "Disney Infinity" may feel a bit overwhelming. Do you choose the most current version? Start with the original? Do you go with Toy Box only? It depends on you, but consider:

  • You can use all the characters in the most recent Play Set, but not in the original. If you want to use Star Wars and Marvel characters, you want "Disney Infinity 3.0."
  • Play Sets are only compatible with their version. If you want to experience the Cars Play Set, you need the original game. 
  • If you don't care about missions and goals, you might enjoy designing with the Toy Box most. You can add Play Sets later.
  • If you have family members who are goal-oriented, they might struggle with the open-ended Toy Box mode. Make sure you get a Play Set.
  • "Disney Infinity 3.0" has the most extensive tutorials via the Toy Box hub. Start there if you like a lot of guidance. 
  • The "Disney Infinity 2.0" (Marvel) Play Sets were the most linear and restrictive except for Inside Out. If you like to explore between missions, go with either the original or "Disney Infinity 3.0." 
  • Characters can only be in the Play Set they were designed for (while they are all welcome in Toy Box mode). You can't play with Mickey Mouse on Hoth. Keep in mind that many of the characters (particularly the Disney Originals) have no corresponding Play Set. You'll have to design your own.

'Disney Infinity' Platforms

"Disney Infinity" is available on most of the major platforms except the Wii, which has a watered-down version of the original game. There are also PC, iOS, and Android versions, which are all free but require in-app purchases for additional characters or the code from a real-world character purchase. 

Was this page helpful?