How to Disable Chrome Sync on Your Devices

Only see the searches you want on each device

An image depicting files transferring across two different computers

cifotart/iStock / Getty Images

One of the really cool features of the Chrome web browser is that it lets you synchronize bookmarks, browsing history, saved passwords as well as other personal data and settings across all of your devices via your Google Account. It even allows you to access previously-installed apps and extensions on multiple platforms, where applicable.

While Chrome sync functionality is certainly convenient, you may want to disable it occasionally for a variety of reasons. We've detailed the methods for disabling sync below. 

Bookmarks, browsing history, stored passwords and other settings are still available once sync is disabled. However, any changes made during that time will not be synchronized with your Google Account and therefore will not be available on other devices.

Disable Chrome Sync on a Computer

Follow these instructions to turn off sync on Chrome OS, Linux, macOS or Windows operating systems.

  1. Launch your Chrome browser, if it's not already open.

  2. Click the Menu button, located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and represented by three vertically-aligned dots.

  3. When the drop-down menu appears, click Settings. You can also enter the following in Chrome's address bar (also known as the Omnibox) instead of using the menu: chrome://settings

  4. Chrome's Settings interface should now be displayed in a new tab. Click Turn off, located in the People section to the right of your name and Google Account image.

    A screenshot of the Google Chrome People settings interface on Windows 10
  5. A pop-up message will now appear, detailing what will occur once you choose to disable Chrome sync, including the fact that you will be signed out of your Google accounts. Click Turn off that accompanies this message to complete the process. You can also choose to delete all bookmarks, browsing history and saved passwords from your current device by placing a check mark next to that optional setting prior to clicking the Turn off button.

    A screenshot of the Turn Off Sync warning message on Google Chrome for Windows 10
  6. You can re-enable sync at any time by returning to the People section and clicking Turn on sync, entering your Google Account credentials when prompted.

Disable Chrome Sync on Android

Follow the steps below to turn off Chrome sync on Android smartphones and tablets.

  1. Launch the Chrome app, if it's not already open.

  2. Tap the Menu button, located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and represented by three vertically-aligned dots.

  3. When the pop-out menu appears, select the Settings option.

  4. Chrome's Settings interface should now be displayed. Tap the name of your Google Account, which should now be visible towards the top of the screen.

  5. Tap Sync.

  6. Chrome's Sync settings should now be displayed. Tap the button accompanying the Sync option, located towards the top of the screen, so that it turns from blue to gray (on to off). Sync is now disabled on your Android device, and can be re-enabled at any time by repeating these steps.

Disable Chrome Sync on iOS

Take these steps to turn off Chrome sync on Apple iPad, iPhone or iPod touch devices.

  1. Tap the Menu button, located in the lower right-hand corner of the screen and represented by three horizontally-aligned dots.

    A screenshot of the Google Chrome browser on iOS
  2. When the pop-out menu appears, select Settings.

    A screenshot of the Google Chrome browser menu on iOS
  3. Chrome's Settings interface should now be displayed. Tap the name of your Google Account, which should now be visible towards the top of the screen.

    A screenshot of the Google Chrome Settings interface on iOS
  4. Tap the button next to the Sync option, located at the top of the screen, so that it turns from blue to white.

    A screenshot of the Google Chrome Sync settings screen on iOS
  5. Scroll down until you locate the Data Types section, which lists multiple items that can be synced to your account. These include bookmarks, browsing history, passwords and several other categories. Ensure that each item that you wish to sync is accompanied by an On (blue) button, and those that you'd like to omit are accompanied by an Off (white) button.

    By default, Chrome will sync all items in this list unless you specify otherwise.

  6. Select DONE, located in the upper right-hand corner, to return to your browsing session with sync now disabled.