How To Delete Your Uber Account For Good

delete your Uber account
Getty Images (Boogich #811444650)

If Uber's service didn't work out for you, it's super easy to delete your Uber account.

Deactivating Your Uber Account

  1. Tap on the menu button, represented by three horizontal lines and located in the upper left-hand corner of the Uber app screen.
  2. When the slide-out menu appears, select Settings.
  3. Uber's Settings interface should now be displayed. Scroll down and choose the Privacy Settings option.
  4. The Privacy Settings screen will now appear. Tap the Delete Your Account link, located at the bottom of the screen.
  1. You'll now be asked to verify your Uber password and other user-specific information to complete the deactivation process.

Your Uber account should now be deactivated. Please note that it may take 30 days for your account to be permanently deleted from Uber's system, a period during which you can reactivate it at any time by simply signing into the app.

Removing the Uber App from Your Smartphone

Deleting your account does not remove the Uber app from your device. Follow these steps to do so.

Android
The process of uninstalling Uber from an Android device varies based on version and manufacturer. It is recommended that you visit our in-depth tutorial: How to Delete Applications from My Android Device.

iOS

  1. Tap and hold the Uber app icon on your device's Home Screen until all of your icons begin shaking and a small 'x' appears in the upper left-hand corner of each one.
  2. Select the x on the Uber icon.
  1. A message will now appear asking if you want to delete Uber. Hit the Delete button to completely remove the app and all of its related data from your phone.