How to Delete a User on PS4

Profiles no longer being used? Delete them!

What to Know

  • Go to Settings > Login Settings > User Management > Delete User. Select the user account to remove > Delete.
  • Any data related to the user will be deleted. Also, games, applications, and media purchased by the profile will become inaccessible.

This article explains how to delete user profiles from the PlayStation 4 to clear up space for games and other multimedia content you might enjoy.

Delete a User From Your PlayStation

While deleting users from your PlayStation 4 makes room for more of your content, you might want to check with the individual who created the account before proceeding as to not delete any of their important information.

  1. Log in to a PlayStation account on your PS4, and open the Settings option at the top of the screen.

  2. Scroll down and select the Login Settings option.

    Screenshot of PlayStation showing login settings.
  3. Scroll down and select the User Management option.

  4. Select the Delete User option.

  5. Select the user account you wish to remove from your PlayStation.

    Screenshot of PlayStation showing users to delete
  6. Confirm the action by selecting the Delete button.

Deleting an account from your PlayStation is different than deleting the account with Sony. When an account is deleted from your PlayStation, the account can still be redownloaded from Sony's systems.

What Happens to a Deleted Account?

When deleting a PlayStation account from your system, any data related to the user including saved game data and screenshots are deleted. Additionally, any games, applications, or media that was purchased by the profile will become inaccessible as the license to that content will also be removed; the one exception is when another user on the system also owns a license for the material in question.

Playstation accounts can be redownloaded to a system if a user wishes to use your console again. The deletion process as outlined above does not entirely remove an account from Sony's system; a different process must be followed if you wish for an account to be wholly deleted, but this does delete the account from your system.

Deleting a user's profile on your PlayStation 4 will remove saved user data, screenshots, and video clips that they have created. Additionally, any licenses for games or media purchased by the user will be unavailable.

How Can I Avoid Creating Accounts for Guests?

There might be times when downloading a profile to your PlayStation is too troublesome; for example, when someone wants to merely join in a game that you are playing. If you only need a temporary account, consider making a Guest account for your visitor. Instead of logging in with a user account when prompted, select the Add New User option but then select the Guest Account option.

Guest accounts will completely delete all associated data once logged out. Do not save anything to a guest account that you would not want to lose upon log out.

Was this page helpful?