Social Media Twitter 83 83 people found this article helpful How to Deactivate and Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account in Seconds by Daniel Nations Writer Daniel Nations has been a tech journalist since 1994. His work has appeared in Computer Currents, The Examiner, The Spruce, and other publications. our editorial process Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Daniel Nations Updated on October 11, 2020 Twitter Facebook Flipboard Pinterest Twitter Snapchat Instagram YouTube Online Dating Tweet Share Email Deactivating your account will remove all of your posts (or tweets) from Twitter, although it may take a few days for all of them to completely disappear. Learn how to hide tweets or permanently delete your Twitter profile. Of course, any tweets captured by a screenshot and posted online will still exist. Twitter has no control over what is posted on non-Twitter websites. Hide Tweets by Going Private If you want to remove your tweets from prying eyes without deactivating it, you can make your account private. When you make your account private, the only people who can read your tweets are your followers. No one else can access any of your posts, even if they are using Google or another third-party search engine. Taking this step is the quickest way to remove your tweets from the public eye. If you want to prevent a specific person from viewing your tweets, you can block them. First, click the Profile and Settings button, which is the small button that looks like your profile picture next to the search box at the top of the screen. Next, choose Settings and Privacy and then click Privacy and safety from the left-side menu. To go private, click Protect my Tweets at the top of this screen. Deactivating vs. Deleting It is important to distinguish between a deactivated account and a deleted account. In many ways, they are the same: all tweets and all references to the account will be removed from Twitter within the first few days of being deactivated. Other Twitter users will be unable to follow the account or search for the account, including searches for historical tweets made by the account. You (and anyone else) will also be restricted from using the deactivated account's username or signing up for a new account using the deactivated account's email address. A deactivated account can be reactivated, which will bring back all of those old tweets, but only within 30 days. The only way to delete an account is to leave it deactivated for 30 days. Once the account is deleted, all tweets are removed from the Twitter servers permanently. Anyone can use the username for the account, and the email address formerly associated with the account can be used to sign up for a new account. How to Deactivate a Twitter Account You can start the process of deleting your account by signing into Twitter. Select More in the list on the left side of your Twitter profile. In the menu that appears, select Settings and Privacy. In the lower right under Data and Permissions, select Deactivate your account. Twitter lets you know that your tweets will only be saved for 30 days. At that point, your account and all posts you have made on your account will be removed from the Twitter servers permanently. If you wish to proceed, select Deactivate. Confirm your password and select Deactivate. How to Reactivate Your Account Reactivating your Twitter account is as simple as logging into it --literally. If you log into the account within 30 days, everything will look normal as if you never left Twitter. You will then receive an email letting you know your account has been reactivated. Keep in mind that there is no prompt asking whether you want your account to be reactivated. It happens seamlessly when you log back into it, so if you want your Twitter account deleted permanently, you will need to stay away for at least 30 days. It is important to know there is no way to suspend or freeze an account permanently. After 30 days, your account will be gone for good. However, you will be able to recreate it with the same username and email address after 30 days. It will simply be missing all of your status updates, and anyone who wants to follow the account must refollow it.