How to Delete Instagram Photos and Videos

Regret posting that photo or video to Instagram?

The Ultimate Guide to Instagram
The Ultimate Guide to Instagram
Introduction

Whether you want to clean up some of the older posts on your feed or you've changed your mind immediately after posting something, deleting Instagram photos and videos is quick and easy to do.

Follow these steps to delete any of your own Instagram photos or videos that you simply don't want to showcase on your profile anymore. 

Need a break from Instagram? Consider temporarily deactivating your Instagram account.

Delete Instagram Photos or Videos

First, make sure you have access to a compatible mobile device with the official Instagram app installed. You can only delete posts while signed in to your account within the app, meaning you can't delete anything if you try signing in using a web browser at Instagram.com.

  1. Open the Instagram app (sign in to your account in necessary) and tap the profile icon in the bottom menu to go to your profile.

  2. Tap the post you want to delete to view it.

  3. In the top right corner of the screen of every photo and video post, you'll see three dots. Tap these to pull up a menu of options.

  4. Select Delete. Alternatively, you can archive Instagram posts, which effectively hides them from other users.

  5. To finalize the permanent deletion of your Instagram post, you'll be asked to tap Delete again just to confirm that you actually do want to delete your post. Remember that once a post is deleted, it can't be undone. 

    Three screenshots of the Instagram app for iOS.

Deleting vs. Archiving Instagram Posts

Here's a brief summary of the difference between archiving and deleting:

Archiving:

  • Hides your post from your profile so nobody else can see it (even you)
  • Gives you the option to put your post back on your profile anytime you want, with no time limit for how long it can stay in your archive
  • Keeps all your likes and comments on the post

Deleting:

  • Permanently deletes your post from your profile, including all the likes and posts that it got
  • Can't be undone