How to Delete Google Voice

Cutting ties with the phone service is easy to do

Google Voice is a communication service that allows you to give your contacts one voice number and forward it to multiple phones. It also allows you to screen calls, block numbers, and apply rules to each caller. If you've signed up for a Google Voice account but no longer use it, you can easily delete your number and information.

Google Voice service is not to be confused with Google Assistant (previously known as Google Now). Google Assistant is a voice assistant similar to Apple’s Siri or Amazon’s Alexa. Google offers instructions for turning off Google Assistant.

How to Delete Your Google Voice Account

It's possible to turn off Google Voice or unsubscribe from Google Voice entirely. There are some things to keep in mind, however. If you use Google Voice with an existing Sprint account or service, or you have paid to transfer your number, you can't delete it. Also, deleting your Google Voice number will not wipe out all the data associated with your account, which means messages will remain in your inbox.

To permanently delete a Google Voice account, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the official Google Voice site.

    homepage of Google Voice site with a big button that says "Get Google Voice"
  2. Sign in to your existing account.

  3. Select the three horizontal lines or Menu option in the top left.

  4. Open the menu and choose the Settings option.

    The Settings tab in the Google Voice menu screenshot
  5. Disable voicemail support for Google Voice numbers. Select Voicemail in the left menu, and uncheck the box next to the Get voicemail via message option.

    The Voicemail settings in Google Voice screenshot
  6. Choose the Phone Numbers option on the menu.

  7. Select the Delete option underneath your listed Google Voice Number.

    The Delete button to get rid of a phone number in Google Voice screenshot
  8. The system will ask you to confirm your selection. Select Proceed to delete your number.

  9. Your Google Voice number and account are now disabled.

Remove the Google Voice app from your device or uninstall from your computer if you have no intention of ever using it again. If you used the web application instead, then you shouldn’t need to remove anything.

What Happens to My Google Voice Account?

After deleting a number or disabling a Google Voice account, you have 90 days to reinstate or get the number back. Afterward, the number will likely go to someone else. Keep that in mind, and make sure you truly don't want to have access to your Google Voice number anymore.

Reinstate Your Google Voice Account

If it's within 90 days after you deleted your account, go to the Google Voice site, select the menu, and choose the Legacy Google Voice option.

Reclaim your old number by selecting Get your old number back.

The Legacy Google Voice tab, where you can reactivate a deleted Google Voice number screenshot