How to Permanently Delete A Facebook Account

Get rid of that account for good

What to Know

  • Go to Settings > Your Facebook Information > View > Deactivation and Deletion > Permanently Delete Account and follow instructions.
  • If you change your mind, you can recover the account within 30 days of deletion.
  • It's a good idea to backup your data (photos, for example); you'll have that option during the deletion process.

This article explains how to permanently remove an account from Facebook on your PC and things to consider before you do. Need to do this from your phone instead? Here's how to do that on an Android and what to do on an iPhone.

How to Close Your Facebook Account

Follow these steps to finally end your relationship with Facebook:

  1. On the Facebook Home Screen, click the downward arrow in the upper right corner.

    The Options menu on Facebook in a browser.
  2. In the menu that appears, select Settings.

    The Settings option on Facebook in a browser.
  3. When the General Account Settings screen appears, click Your Facebook Information on the left navigation bar.

    The location of Your Facebook Information in Facebook on a browser.
  4. In the information that appears on the screen, select View next to Deactivation and Deletion.

    How to view Deactivation and Deletion on Facebook in a web browser.
  5. On the next page, select Permanently Delete Account and then click Continue to Account Deletion.

    The Account Deletion option in Facebook on a web browser.
  6. A new screen gives you the option to Deactivate Account or to Download Info. If you have not yet downloaded the personal information (pictures, chat histories, posts, etc.) that you want to keep, choose Download Info and wait for the download to complete. Otherwise, click Delete Account.

    Screenshot of information about and an option for deleting an account on Facebook.

    Be sure you really want to delete your Facebook account before you do it. After 30 days, you cannot recover a deleted account.

  7. Enter your password when prompted and then click Continue.

    Confirming Facebook deletion with a password using a web browser.
  8. You're prompted again to confirm you want to delete the account. Click Delete Account.

    Another confirmation message when deleting a Facebook account using a browser.
  9. Your account will be temporarily deleted, and you are returned to the log-in screen.

What To Consider Before Deleting Facebook

Before you delete your Facebook account, take some time to consider what you might lose by deleting it. For example, do you have pictures that only exist on Facebook? Or what about other accounts (like Instagram or Pinterest) that may be tied to your Facebook log-in information to access? If you're not sure how entwined Facebook is in your digital world, it might be a better idea to deactivate it first to get a sense of what accounts and passwords you'll need to change before you completely cut the service off.

If you're sure you're ready to delete your account, at the very least you should have a backup of the data you have stored on Facebook. This could be anything from your pictures to chat histories and even friends lists. You'll have the option to choose what data to download once you start the process.

If you change your mind about deleting your account within the 30-day deletion window, you can log back into Facebook and confirm that you want to cancel deleting the page. The page will then be restored. After 30 days, the account and all the data in the account will be permanently deleted.