Internet, Networking, & Security Around the Web How to Delete Your Amazon Account You can extricate yourself from Amazon, but there are significant drawbacks by Amanda Derrick Freelance Contributor Amanda Derrick is a mechanical engineer, business strategist, and former Lifewire writer who has also written for USAF Civil Service, ATK, and Boeing. our editorial process Twitter LinkedIn Amanda Derrick Updated on September 23, 2020 Around the Web Browsers Cloud Services Error Messages Family Tech Home Networking 5G Antivirus VPN Web Development Around the Web View More Tweet Share Email Because Amazon is such a huge part of our digital lives, closing an Amazon account isn't a simple process. If you're OK with losing your purchase history, digital purchases, gift card balances, and more, here's how to delete an Amazon account permanently. If you're unhappy with an Amazon service, such as Amazon Fresh or Amazon Prime, consider canceling it rather than closing your entire Amazon account for good. Important Factors When Closing an Amazon Account There are a few things to keep in mind before you go ahead with closing your Amazon account. Closing your account is permanent and means you'll no longer have access to any of your Amazon services. Keep in mind that you'll lose access to your purchase history and won't be able to print out a receipt if you ever need proof of purchase. If your Audible account has an Amazon login, you'll lose access to your account. You'll no longer be able to return a purchase or request a refund, and you'll lose any remaining balances on Amazon gift cards. You won't be able to view your credit card information or address book, and if you're active in the Amazon community, any reviews, discussion posts, or photos will disappear. Amazon Digital Assets If you've purchased digital assets through Amazon, such as Kindle material, Amazon Music, or Amazon App Store content, you'll lose access after deleting your Amazon account. You won't be able to use Amazon Pay anymore, and any data stored in an Amazon Drive or Amazon Photos account will be deleted. It's critical to download and save any content you want to keep before closing your Amazon account. If you have an AWS (Amazon Web Services) account, you'll lose all access to its data if you close your Amazon account. Be sure to save and download anything you need. If you've considered all these aspects and still want to close your Amazon account, here's how to do it. How to Close Your Amazon Account Before you get started, make sure you don't have any open orders, then follow the steps below: Sign in to your Amazon account. Select Customer Service. Under Browse Help Topics, select Managing Your Orders. Select More in Managing Your Orders. Under Managing Your Account, next to Account Updates, select Close Your Account. Read through the detailed information about the ramifications of closing your account. To continue, select Contact Us. Under Request Your Data and Select an issue, select Close my account and delete my data from the drop-down menu. Amazon will show a toll-free number if you'd like to call a customer service agent and have them delete your account. Calling an Amazon customer service representative is encouraged because you'll be able to discuss downloading and saving your data, and they can answer any questions about your account closure. If you prefer to email about closing your account, under How would you like to contact us? select E-mail. In the email form, enter your name to confirm that you want your account closed and data deleted, and then select Send E-mail. Amazon will respond within 12 hours with further information. After Amazon closes your account, if you want to use Amazon services again, you'll have to create a new account.