What Does It Mean to Deactivate Facebook Temporarily?

You Can Temporarily Suspend and Hide Your Facebook Account

To deactivate Facebook means to suspend your Facebook account temporarily. It does not mean permanently canceling Facebook or erasing all your Facebook data.

When you deactivate your Facebook account, you are making your profile, photos, and other data disappear from the online social network so that it won't be visible to other people. Some information might still be visible to others. It doesn't remove your name from someone else's friend list, and it doesn't delete messages you exchanged with friends. It also doesn't stop you from getting email from Facebook unless you select the Email Opt Out at the time you deactivate your account.

  • Facebook: Deactivating Your Account: See the current information about deactivating your Facebook account.
  • Also Known As: Suspend Facebook, deactivating your Facebook, temporarily quit Facebook, take a break from Facebook

Reactivating Your Deactivated Facebook Account

You will still be able to reactivate your Facebook account by signing in again with your email and password. Your account will be reactivated, and all your data will reappear, both to you and to your friends. If you have trouble logging in, you can use the password recovery steps. If you

How Is Deleting Your Facebook Account Different From Deactivating It?

If you are sure you want to permanently remove your account rather than deactivating it, here is how to delete your Facebook account. This choice will erase your photos, settings, and data without being able to recover them. However, messages you sent to friends will remain accessible to them.

How to Deactivate Facebook

Facebook does not make it easy to find the option to deactivate your account. The Deactivate Your Account option is located within the Security menu, which is itself located in the Settings menu. How you navigate to it will be different depending on whether you are using a mobile device or a desktop computer. It is also bound to change as Facebook changes its menus. These instructions will help point you in the right directions, but you may have to go on a hunt to find the current location of the Deactivate Your Account link.

Desktop Facebook Deactivation Instructions

The Deactivate Your Account option is located within the Security menu. In the top command bar, look to the far right for the drop down menu arrow and look for Settings on that menu. It is likely to be positioned near the bottom of the Security menu.

  • When you select Deactivate Your Account, the text will tell you about what it means, and it has a link to further information about deactivating your account.
  • You then can select a link to deactivate your account.
  • You'll be required to re-enter your password as a safety step.
  • You'll see a page again telling you more about deactivating your account, including photos of some of your Facebook friends and a chance to send them a message.
  • You'll be required to check a reason you are leaving, including that it is temporary, you don't feel safe on Facebook, you get too many emails and requests, you have another Facebook account, you don't find it useful, you are spending too much time on Facebook, etc.
  • You will see a list of any groups or pages you have created and have a chance to change administrators for them, including a warning if you are the only admin.
  • You have a choice to opt out of future emails from Facebook. These don't automatically stop when you deactivate your account. You have to check the email opt-out box to stop them.
  • Finally, you can select the Deactivate button.

Mobile Facebook Deactivation Instructions

You can find Settings by selecting the Menu icon on the lower bar, to the far right. Scroll down to near the bottom of the menu to find Settings.

  • Select Account Settings.
  • Select Security Settings.
  • At the bottom, see Deactivate as a link to the far right of Account.
  • The steps are then similar to those of the Desktop deactivation.