Call of Duty World at War System Requirements

Call of Duty: World at War Zombies


Call of Duty World at War was released in November 2008 receiving commercial and critical success. At the time of release, Treyarch and Activision published both the minimum Call of Duty World at War system requirements.

The list of system requirements for the World War II First Person Shooter, include CPU requirements, memory/RAM requirements, operating system, and video/sound card requirements.

If you are unable to confirm the system specs of your PC gaming rig to compare against the Call of Duty World at War system requirements listed below then you will want to try something like CanYouRunIt. CanYouRunIt is a free application/service that will scan your PC and compare it against their database for the published Call of Duty World at War system requirements.

Minimum System Requirements

Spec Requirement
Operating System Windows XP, Windows Vista or newer
CPU/Processor Intel Pentium 4 or AMD 64 3200+ or better
CPU/Processor Speed 3.0GHz or faster
Memory 512 MB RAM, 1 GB for Vista or newer
Disk Space 8 GB free hard disk space
Graphics Card 256MB Nvidia GeForce 6600GT/ATI Radeon 1600XT or better with Shader 3.0 or better
Sound Card DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
Perperiphals Keyboard, Mouse
Special For co-operative and multiplayer matches 2Ghz dual core or faster processor is recommended.


About Call of Duty: World at War

Call of Duty World at War is the fourth title in the Call of Duty series that has been released for the PC. It also marks the return to the World War II theme that helped launch the Call of Duty series to the juggernaut it is today.

The game contains both single-player and multiplayer game modes. The single-player campaign follows two unique stories, one that follows a U.S. Marine as they island-hop through the Pacific Theater fighting the Imperial Japanese army. The second single-player campaign follows soldiers in the Soviet Army in the final weeks of the war in the Battle of Berlin. There are a total of 15 missions between the two single-player campaigns.

The multiplayer component of Call of Duty World at War includes a competitive mode that pits two sides against each other on various maps from the single-player game and four playable factions. The playable factions include the United States, Japan, Germany, and the Soviet Union. Players will choose one of five soldier classes to play each of which has different loadouts and weapons. These include the Rifleman, an all-purpose infantry soldier; Light Gunner which is a light assault soldier armed with a machine gun; Heavy Gunner who is armed with a heavy machine gun; Close Assault who start with explosives and close-range shotgun and the Sniper who is armed with a long-range scoped rifle. Each class has it's own perks as well which gives players the ability to provide them with additional weaponry or equipment.

Introducing Black Ops

Call of Duty: World at War is also the first game in the Black Ops story arc that continues and includes 3 sequels Black Ops (2010), Black Ops II (2012), and Black Ops III (2015).

One unique feature of the games in the Call of Duty Black Ops story arc is that all of the games include a Zombies multiplayer mode that has become a popular aspect of the games. The Zombies multiplayer in Call of Duty World at War looks a bit dated in terms of content and gameplay when compared to the later releases but it was the first to include it. In this mode, up to four players must defend a house from wave after wave of Nazi zombies in a tower defense style format where the objective is to last as long as possible, repairing areas where zombies are trying to enter. Eventually, the players will be overrun and defeated.​

The Zombies storyline, as well as the Black Ops story arc, continues in Call of Duty Black Ops III which was released in November 2015.

Was this page helpful?